May 21, 2007

Maarten van Lierop wins Rd2 of Dutch 200mm Nationals

Rd2 of Dutch 200mm Nationals

The second round of the Dutch 1/10th 200mm Nationals was run last weekend at the ultra fast Rucphen track, host of the first 2 rounds of the Dutch 1/8th scale National championship. Qualifying saw Serpent driver Jordy Blok take the top spot, but as the rain started to fall very few drivers decided to take part in the semi finals with only 4 racers running the first semi final and only 2 starting the 2nd semi final, meaning everyone had a good chance to make it through to the main event.

The start of the main final was delayed and due to the rain stopping, the track started to dry up but only it was only round 1 podium finisher Maarten van Lierop, driving for Xray, that took the gamble on a full dry weather setup which at the start of the final didnt look like it would pay off. As the track dried even more he started to turn decent laps and could then take the lead, eventually winning by 9 laps ahead of the Serpent duo of Ruud Schuitmaker and Bas Geurds who came home in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Click here for the final finishers…

Final Results
1. Maarten van Lierop (Xray NT1) – 65 Laps
2. Ruud Schuitmaker (Serpent 720) – 56 Laps
3. Bas Geurds (Serpent 720) – 51 Laps
4. Fedor Eskes (HPI R40) – 48 Laps
5. Ruben d’Arco (Xray NT1) – 41 Laps
6. Ronald van Erp (Serpent 720) – 30 Laps
7. Remy Muller (Serpent 720) – 30 Laps

Thanks to Ruben for the picture and report


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: