October 18, 2018

2018/19 Schumacher Indoor Masters Rd1 – Report

Last weekend was the first round of the very popular Worksop Series, with a huge entry of 167 drivers across the three classes of 2WD, 4WD and vintage buggy. The race was held using the new Schumacher Honeycomb control tyre and all competitors in both 2WD and 4WD buggy must now use a brand new pair of marked rear tyres at each event. Entered for this event were some World class drivers, Michal Orlowski, Neil Cragg and Lee Martin, so the racing was going to be brilliant to see. As always it was round by round qualifying as the racing format, with the best two results from four rounds of qualifying counting towards the final position. Qualifying in 2WD saw Neil Cragg take pole position from Michal Orlowski and Lee Martin.

In 4WD things were a lot closer, but it was Neil Cragg who took pole from Lee Martin, both drivers were tied on 2 TQ rounds each, but Neil had the quickest time by just 0.7s. Craig Collinson would line up 3rd on the grid. In the Vintage class it was Chris Slater who dominated proceedings taking TQ in all four qualifying rounds and would line up on pole. When the dust had settled after the A-mains it was Neil Cragg with the overall in 2WD from Michal Orlowski 2nd and Lee Martin 3rd.

2WD final results:
1. Neil Cragg – Team Associated
2. Michal Orlowski – Schumacher
3. Lee Martin – Yokomo
4. Craig Collinson – Xray
5. Ben Smith – Schumacher
6. Mitchell Fiddling – Schumacher
7. James Helliwell – Xray
8. Allan O Brien – Schumacher
9. Jonathan Skidmore – Xray
10.Nathan Waters – Schumacher
11.Josh Holdsworth – Schumacher

The 4WD class was won by Lee Martin from Neil Cragg and Craig Collinson.

4WD final results:
1. Lee Martin – Yokomo
2. Neil Cragg – Team Associated
3. Craig Collinson – Xray
4. James Helliwell – Xray
5. Michal Orlowski – Schumacher
6. Jonathan Skidmore – Xray
7. Matthew Thompson – Kyosho
8. Allan O Brien – Schumacher
9. Iain Mellish – Tekno
10.Kev Lee – PR Racing
11.David Gibson – Yokomo

The Vintage class A-final saw Chris Slater on top with Lee Broadhurst and Phil Wallace in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Vintage final results:
1. Chris Slater
2. Lee Broadhurst
3. Phil Wallace
4. Phil Barlow
5. Harrison Wallace
6. Jim Drennon
7. Russell Woodhouse
8. David Dunn

The next round of this series is on Sunday 4th November.

Source: Schumacher [racing-cars.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: