February 24, 2007

Dirt Nitro Challenge – Qualifying

Dirt Nitro Challenge

This weekend also sees the running of the Dirt Nitro Challenge in the Dirt racing facility in Phoenix, Arizona. Attracting an incredible entry of 390 racers in 3 classes this race is one of the premier off road races in the United States. The track looks awesone but was flooded in recent rains and this disrupted the practice schedule for all racers, but they got it sorted and got straight into the racing. Qualifying for the trucks took place on Thursday and that was led by Losi racer Travis Amezcua with his team mate Mike Truhe close behind in 2nd. Taylor James is next up in 3rd, the Futaba Nitro Challenge winner placing ahead of 4th place Cody King racing a Kyosho.

The buggy qualifying took place yesterday, Friday, and that was once more dominated by the Losi 8ight, this time in the hands of Mike Truhe who got the better of his well known and extremely fast team mate Adam Drake who ended up 2nd. Taylor James once more ending up 3rd fastest with his Jammin buggy just in front of his team mate Chad Bradley. European Champion Yannick Aigoin is also at the event, racing both classes with his Xray, but despite making the A-main in the truggy class, he is struggling in buggy and lines up in the B-main hoping to be able to bump up and take part in the main event. Also of note is that Team Associated have placed two of the RC8 buggies in the A-main with Ryan Maifield in 6th and Ryan Cavalieri in 9th while O’Donnell, whose buggy we showed you pictures off this week, is struggling in the hands of the 1/10th truck pole man Jared Tebo and will only start in the B-main in 1/8th buggy.

Finals starts Saturday but you can check out the top qualifiers here…

Truggy Qualifying Results:
1. Travis Amezcua – Losi/Novarossi
2. Mike Truhe – Losi/Novarossi
3. Taylor James – Jammin/OS
4. Cody King – Kyosho/Sirio
5. Scott Hughes – Mugen/OS
6. Bobby Tillman – Mugen/Ninja
7. Mark Pavidis – Kyosho/OS
8. Adam Drake – Losi/Trinity Drake
9. Yannick Aigoin – XRAY/RB
10. Chad Bradley – Jammin/OS
11. Justin Wheeler – Mugen/WERKS
12. Josh Wheeler – Xray/Werks
13. Ryan Lutz – Kyosho

Buggy Qualifying Results:
1. Mike Truhe – Losi/Novarossi
2. Adam Drake – Losi/Trinity Drake
3. Taylor James – Jammin/OS
4. Chad Bradley – Jammin/OS
5. Gary Guest – Jammin/Picco
6. Ryan Maifield – AE/OS
7. Travis Amezcua – Losi/Novarossi
8. Marty Korn – GS/WERKS
9. Ryan Cavalieri – AE/Orion
10. Scott Hughes – Mugen/OS
11. Aaron Waldron – Losi/Trinity Drake
12. Jesse Robbers – Xray
13. Justin Wheeler – Xray/Werks

Source: Neo-Buggy [neo-buggy.net] / RB Products [rbproducts.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: