May 22, 2007

BRCA Touring Rubber and Truck class Rd3

BRCA Touring Rubber and Truck class Rd3

Report by Mark Christopher – The weekend of 13th and 14th May saw racers attend the fantastic Cotswold track, where they were greeted to a dry Saturday for open practice. Conditions cahnged however and Sunday saw the racers and crew welcomed by a cool damp morning and as everyone was setting up their pit areas the rain began to fall, leaving a damp slippery surface.

In the rubber class Mathew Thompson set TQ with his Serpent 720 showing his local knowledge of the track while in the trucks Craig Nutting got a clean run with his Team Magic car. By the end of round two of qualifying the rain was now showing no mercy and the track was covered in water, due to the design of the Cotswold track there were no deep puddles. Even so many drivers decided to wait for the finals and only a few ventured out to do a few laps to check their water proofing and tyre choice.

Continue Reading…

The truck final was the first to run and Mark Christopher took his Elite r/c Serpent 720 to the finish line taking a well earned win over Gary Macarthur also driving a Serpent. Mark’s water proofing and wet weather preparation enabled him to be the only Truck to go the full 30 minutes without a single engine cut.

At the start of the Rubber class main final there was a nose to tail battle between Elite’s Joe Kerry driving his Mega powered Serpent 720 and Michael Balls Xray NT1, with Joe taking the upper hand and pulling out a lead. After 10 minutes the timing computer failed, leaving the organizers to make the decision of having a re-run with the results to be decided over both legs. Again Joe took the lead and Michael made several mistakes allowing a cool and collected Joe to take a well earned victory giving Serpent 720’s the top two overall positions.

Truck Class final results:
1. Mark Christopher – 68L 30m21.579s
2. Gary McArthur – 51L 30m 6.869s
3. Andrew Oulton – 5L 23m 8.868s
4. Michael Lloyds – 2L 1m23.538s
5. Craig Nutting – 2L 2m22.635s
6. Andrew Wagstaff – 2L 2m54.987s
7. Jason Fox – 0L 0m 0.000s

Touring Rubber Class final results:
1. Joe Kerry – 71L 20m15.030s
2. Michael Ball – 65L 20m10.956s
3. Paul Thompson – 57L 20m17.158s
4. Graham Lorimer – 55L 20m14.371s
5. Nigel Pearce – 15L 20m 0.00s
6. Kieran McArthur – 7L 20m 0.00s
7. Addam Talbot – 4L 0m 0.000s

Image and Report by Mark Christopher


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: