September 16, 2007

Richard Volta wins Rd5 of French 1/8th Nats

Richard Volta wins Rd5 of French 1/8th Nats

The 5th and final round of the French 1/8th scale Nationals took place last weekend at the fast and flowing Clermont Ferrand track in the south of the country, host of the 1999 World Championships. In qualifying it was Mugen racer Richard Volta that claimed the pole position for the Elite class with a new lap record ahead of 2nd placed qualifier Sébastien Zatla for Kyosho while in the National class the pole spot went to J-P Chaussade with D. Lichtle in 2nd although both would not make it through the mandatory semi finals.

After the semi finals the Elite title had been decided as round 4 winner Stephane Bouche could not finish his final, a retirement with 4 minutes to go meant he was out and Nicolas Guillot could claim the title. There was still a race to be run and from the start it was clear that Richard Zatla was the man to beat as he pulled ahead leaving the others to battle for the runner up spots. Newly crowned Champion Guillot was the first retirement while at the head of the chasing pack it was a close race between Laurent Zatla and returning 2000 European Vice Champion Christophe Aygon, with Zatla getting ahead near the end of the race and taking 2nd ahead of Aygon in 3rd with Volta winning by 2 laps. The National class race saw a win for Sylvain Tolomelli closely followed home by Arnaud Mathieu in 2nd while David Mignot finished in 3rd a lap further back.

Click here to see the final results…

Elite Class results:
1. Richard Volta (Mugen) – 163 Laps
2. Laurent Zatla (Kyosho) – 161 Laps
3. Christophe Aygon (Mugen) – 160 Laps
4. Laurent Pageneaux (Mugen) – 155 Laps
5. Laurent Beyer (Mugen) – 150 Laps
6. Jérôme Papaconstantinos (Kyosho) – 149 Laps
7. Romain Picard (Mugen) – 148 Laps
8. Eric Nougier (Kyosho) – 129 Laps
9. Sébastien Zatla (Kyosho) – 102 Laps
10. Nicolas Guillot (Mugen) – 34 Laps

Rd5 of French 1/8th Nats

National Class results:
1. Sylvain Tolomelli (Mugen) – 105 Laps
2. Arnaud Mathieu (Serpent) – 105 Laps
3. David Mignot (Mugen) – 104 Laps
4. Romain Fournery (Mugen) – 103 Laps
5. Vivien Rozand (Mugen) – 102 Laps
6. Yoann Coelho (Mugen) – 94 Laps
7. Sylvain Jaubert (Mugen) – 93 Laps
8. Gérald Colinet (Serpent) – 70 Laps
9. Romain Baehrel (Mugen) – 70 Laps
10. Jérémy Becht (Mugen) – 52 Laps

Source: JP Racing []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: