November 14, 2007

Spain & Netherlands take ’07 Nations Cup

Spain & Netherlands take ‘07 Nations Cup

The third running of the annual Serpent Nations Cup took place over the weekend in beautiful sunshine at the Monsanto track in Lisbon, Portugal, where 16 teams representing seven Nations gathered to race for the pride of their country. Previously an exclusive 1:8 scale event, the 2007 edition saw the introduction of the 1:10 Nations Cup and the first 200mm touring car competition attracted drivers from Ireland, France, Spain, Holland, Sweden and host nations Portugal. After 44 Nations Cup races run over the 2 days the 2007 Serpent Nations Cup had come to a close in the most dramatic way possible. Team Portugal (1) had won Leg 2 by 2 points leaving them equal on 163 points with Leg 1 winners and defending Champions Team Netherlands. Unfortunately for the host nation the tie break would be determined on the number of wins achieved by each team and this meant the Cup was returning to Holland with Team Netherlands drivers Rob Kuyper, Stanley Bauer, John Ermen and Miquel Hereijgers. Third overall went to Team Austria. In 1:10, Team Spain’s quest to secure the first ever Nations Cup title was never seriously threatened and the squad of Oscar Cabezas, Rodrigo Pahissa, Javier Hidalgo, Adrian Ortiz and David Lopez deservedly claimed top honours. Completing the 1:10 podium where Team Portugal (1) and a delighted Team France.

Source: Serpent []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: