April 21, 2008

Heremans wins Belgian 235mm opener

Heremans wins Belgian 235mm opener

The Belgian 235mm National Championships got underway recently at the small and technical Houthalen circuit, where drivers spent Saturday testing on a dry track only to arrive on race day to find a wet circuit. With the rain having stopped, the track was completely dry for start of the final but on the very first lap it started to rain lightly and everyone pitted to change tyres, then 5 minutes later the heavens opened up and another tyre stop was required. With the cars running around more like submarines, and drivers struggling to keep their engines running it was Leo Heremans, who took the win after 30 minutes of racing being the only driver to complete the full race distance. Willy Wuyts took second despite being unable to get his engine restarted in the dying minutes of the race with Luc Steylaerts claiming third for an all Serpent 835 podium.

Source: Serpent [serpent.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: