June 16, 2008

Lee Martin wins European ‘B’ title

Lee Martin wins European ‘B’ title

The European ‘B’ Championships for 1/8th scale buggy were run last weekend at the USBRC’s track in Bergerac, France. Qualifying saw a close battle between Associated driver Lee Martin and Losi racer Darren Bloomfield, both from the UK, as well as Czech driver Martin Bayer. In the end it was Lee that took an easy pole position ahead of Bayer, who managed to claim the spot from Bloomfield in the last round of qualifying, demoting Darren to the 3rd spot. Following the semi’s, the final saw Lee and Darren immediately shot off into the lead of the 45 minute race. Darren worked his way passed Lee in the early stages, but problems following the first refuelling dropped him down the order and gave Lee some breathing space at the front. Darren would eventually work his way back to the front, managing to come from 10th to take 2nd in the last 5 minutes of the race. Lee Martin took the win, and the European title, ahead of Bloomfield in 2nd, 2 laps back, with French racer Romain Soret in 3rd, 1 lap further back.

Click here for the finals results…

Final results:
1. Lee Martin – 82 Laps in 45:15.53
2. Darrent Bloomfield – 80 Laps in 45:27.69
3. Romain Soret – 79 Laps in 45:07.25
4. Federico Ruggeri – 79 Laps in 45:14.72
5. Jean-Marc Lacheze – 79 Laps in 45:29.14
6. Martin Bayer – 79 Laps in 45:29.92
7. Carlos Pineda – 78 Laps in 45:34.46
8. David Ronnefalk – 77 Laps in 45:08.24
9. Costas Agrafiotis – 76 Laps in 45:00.16
10. Riccardo Acciari – 73 Laps in 45:13.25

Source: Automodelisme [automodelisme.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: