September 11, 2008

Abernethy wins Rd4, Harron Champion

Abernethy wins in Navan, Harron Champion

The fourth & final round of the Irish 1:8 Buggy Nationals took place over the weekend at the Navan Nitro Nuts track and where championship came to a thrilling climax with a tie break required to declare the 2008 Champion. After 45 minutes of racing it was Xray driver Barkley Abernethy who just took the win from the Hot Bodies of Mark Harron. Seperated by just four seconds the result left the pair tied on points and with both having recorded the same number of wins and second place finishes the title would be decided on each drivers qualifying results handing Harron the title. Completing the podium at the all astro turf track, which also hosted the opening round back in May, was Crono driver David Curtis.

Click more to see the final results…

A Final Results
1. Barkley Abernethy – Xray/GRP – 74L 2724.77
2. Mark Harron – HB/GRP – 74L 2728.90
3. David Curtis – Crono/Max – 72L 2706.03
4. Michael Todd – Losi/Novarossi- 72L 2727.11
5. Richard Quigley – Xray/RB – 67L 2706.71
6. Darren Hill – Kyosho/Siro – 64L 2711.35
7. Gary Baird – Kyosho/RB – 63L 2616.82
8. Alan Bickerstaff – AE/RB – 52L 2083.71
9. Michael Monaghan – AE/Mega MF – 28L 1271.71
10.Pete Wells – Kyosho/Sirio- 19L 820.39

Mark Harron

Final Championship Standings
1. Mark Harron – HB/GRP
2. Barkley Abernethy – Xray/GRP
3. Michael Todd – Losi/Novarossi

Source: Hobbies Ireland [] / Photo by Jason Murphy


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: