September 29, 2008

Gilliland wins Merlin Fuel Ulster GP

Gilliland wins Merlin Fuel Ulster GP

Ballymoney in Northern Ireland played host to the Merlin Fuel Ulster Grand Prix yesterday with nitro cars making a successful return to the once popular nitro venue. Organised by the UMCC, the inaugural Nitro GP attracted a quality entry including former Irish National 1:10 200mm Champions Chris Steele & Stephen Hayes, and British Championship race winner Mark Gilliland. In qualifying it was Steele with his Murnan Modified RB powered Kyosho that claimed TQ honours from Gilliland’s Xray. In the final the pair had a thrilling battle for the lead, swapping positions lap after lap, but a small error by Steele was eventually enough to allow Gilliland to break clear and take the victory. 2007 Irish Champion Hayes, also driving an NT1 completed the podium. Following the success of the event it is planned to make the Ballymoney circuit a regular fixture on the 2009 Irish National Championship calendar.

Click more to see the final standings…

1.(2) Mark Gilliland – Xray
2.(1) Chris Steele – Kyosho
3.(3) Stephen Hayes – Xray
4.(4) Darren Gibb – Kyosho
5.(6) Robert Boylan – Serpent
6.(5) Thomas Ward – Team Magic
7.(7) Colm Gaffney – Serpent
8.(8) Eoin McGeough – Serpent

Source: Hobbies Ireland []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: