October 28, 2008

Alan Bickerstaff is ITCS Champion

The third & final round of the Garmin/Sqeez backed Irish Touring Car Series took place in Fermoy, Co.Cork over the weekend where Alan Bickerstaff took victory to become the 2008 Champion at the controls of his Associated TC5. With Rounds 1 & 2 of the RCCAOI sanctioned series run outdoor on tarmac, the title deciding leg moved indoor to carpet where once again it was Bickerstaff who set the pace in qualifying maintaining his 100% TQ record. The Round 1 winner secured pole ahead of the Xray of Graham Kenny and Round 2 winner Stephen Hill who was driving a Hot Bodies. Needing victory in Leg 1 of the final to secure the inaugural ITC Series title Bickerstaff did just that winning from Kenny and Hill. In Leg 2 the newly crowned champion again broke clear of the pack but a mistake dropped him down the order leaving Kenny to lead.  However with two laps to go Bickerstaff was all over the rear of the leader’s car and the pressure forced Kenny to make an error allowing the new champion to take his fifth leg win from the six that made up the 2008 Series. The final podium in Fermoy was how it also ended up in the final championship standings with Kenny claiming Vice Champion honours and Hill taking third, their efforts each rewarded with a Garmin Sat Nav and a Dublin Crystal trophy.  With 41 drivers registering points in the ITC Series 2008 has been a very successful season for 1:10 EP Touring Car racing in Ireland and 2009 looks set to be even stronger.

Click more for the final results…

A Final Overall Result
1. (1) Alan Bickerstaff – 2 [1 1]
2. (2) Graham Kenny – 4 [2 2]
3. (3) Stephen Hill – 6 [3 3]
4. (4) Jonathan Dunn – 9 [4 5]
5. (6) Mark McCracken – 10 [6 4]
6. (5) Keith Dempsey – 13 [5 8]
7. (7) Gary Jes – 13 [7 6]
8. (8) Pat Kelly – 15 [8 7]

Source: Hobbies Ireland [hobbiesireland.ie]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: