January 28, 2009

Báez & Mendez win Puerto Rico Nats Rd1

Báez & Mendez win Puerto Rico Nats Rd1

The first race of the Puerto Rico Championship was held in Barceloneta this past weekend under perfect weather conditions. The sedan class saw the win go to Mugen Driver Andy Báez who also took the TQ, followed by Serpent driver Juan Rodríguez and Kyosho Team Driver Pedro Alvarado. The race was 40 minutes long and was exciting from the very beginning, with Andy and Juan constantly changing positions. Unfortunately later in to the race Andy lost his second gear, however quick work from his pit crew got the problem fixed and they managed to keep him in the lead. Later on in the race Juan hit problems giving Andy a comfortable lead and allowed him to take the win.

A Main Sedan 200mm (40 mins)
1. Andy Baez – TQ
2. Juan C. Rodriguez
3. Pedro Alvarado

Báez & Mendez win Puerto Rico Nats Rd1

In the 1/8 Class, it was Mugen driver Fernando Méndez who was able to take the lead team mate and class TQ Andy Báez, who finished in second with Kyosho racer Amauri taking third.

1/8 Gas Open (40 mins)
1. Fernando Mendez
2. Andy Baez – TQ
3. Amauri

Báez & Mendez win Puerto Rico Nats Rd1

In the Outlaw class Edgar Tirado took the TQ and won the race, followed home by Serpent Team mate José Sala, while behind was lady Mugen driver, Zobeida Ocasio who finished third after the hour long race.

A Main Outlaw (60 mins)
1. Edgar Tirado
2. Jose Salas
3. Zobeida Ocasio

Báez & Mendez win Puerto Rico Nats Rd1

In the Sedan B main José Torres, driving a Mugen took the win, followed by Norberto Macho with his Xray and José Nieves driving a Mugen MTX4R.

B Main Sedan 200mm (30 mins)
1. Jose Torres
2. Norberto “Macho”
3. José Nieves

Thanks to Zobeida Ocasio for the report


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: