June 7, 2009

Wischnewski triumphs at 1:10 Bumod GP

Wischnewski truimphs at 1:10 Bumod GP

After one hour of racing in intense heat it was Dirk Wischnewski who is the first ever 1:10 Bumod Grand Prix Champion. The German Team Xray driver took the win ahead of Thailand’s Surikarn C. and Austrian Gerhard Kandelhardt to make it an all Xray NT1 podium in Turkey. The race started off with a very fast starting Kandlehardt leading the field ahead of Top Qualifier Surikarn and Wischnewski.  Starting from the no.2 spot on the grid Jilles Groskamp got sideways at the first corner after his team fitted new unscrubed tyres right before the start. Driving his prototype Serpent 7XX Groskamp soon found his way to the front. After 10 minutes the Dutch ace was looking in control opening up a 10 second gap over ‘Kandi’ but drama was to unfold as the receiver battery fell out of his car. This left the Austrian in the lead followed by Surikarn and Richard Furtner but just coming up on 15 minutes he ran out of fuel.

Check out our full event coverage here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: