September 3, 2009

Zac Ryan wins 2009 African Cup GP

Zac Ryan wins 2009 African Cup GP

The annual African Cup was held recently in SA with the host track being completed only a week before the event, ensuring that the local competitors didnt have any home track advantage. As usual practice was Thursday and Friday afternoon only with qualifiers on the Saturday and finals on the Sunday. This year Zac Ryan and Craig Laughton from Australia joined a total of 75 local drivers to test their racing talents against others in gas Buggy, Truggy and Monster truck classes.

This being the 6th annual event of its kind, all the drivers were wondering, if the title would stay in Africa or not. Only after the challenge would this be known. Last year’s winner was not letting out any of his secrets. While the top manufacturers were well represented, the track offered no compassion and setups were the name of the game. Zac reported that he and Craig were not at all familiar with these types of surfaces and back to the text books it was for them.

Buggy final starting order
1. Deen Steenmans (SA)
2. Mark Remcken (SA)
3. Zac Ryan (Aus)
4. Craig Laughton (Aus)
5. Kenny Morey (SA)
6. Hein Fronnemann (SA)
7. Miguel Haasbroek (SA)
8. Dale Preston (SA)
9. William Pieterse (SA)
10.Ishunth Hurrienarian (SA)

The beginning saw Dean in the lead until the engine mounting came loose, while the second place changed several times. The hour race took it’s toll on the drivers and around half way, Zac settled into a comfortable lead.

Buggy final results
1. Zac Ryan (Aus)
2. Mark Remcken (SA)
3. Craig Laughton (Aus)
4. Deen Steenmans (SA)
5. Dale Preston (SA)
6. Ishunth Hurrienarian (SA)
7. Kenny Morey (SA)
8. Miguel Haasbroek (SA)
9. William Pieterse (SA)
10.Hein Fronnemann (SA)

The Truggy had just as many exciting actions within it’s hour, with the lead being challenged by the “Liebenberg Father and Son Team” who finally settled into the lead at the 25 minute mark and went on to take the win.

Zac Ryan wins 2009 African Cup GP

Truggy final results
1. Jaques Liebenberg (SA)
2. Louis Trichardt (SA)
3. Jason Raath (SA)
4. Douglas Dyer (SA)
5. Rowan Brink (SA)
6. Brandon Du Preez (SA)
7. Wykie Van Wyk (SA)
8. Lebo Tilsley (SA)
9. Ruan Cloete (SA)
10.Danie Delpoort (SA)
11.Craig Laughton (Aus)

Source: TRAP []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: