February 26, 2010

Andersson heads Euros qualifying after 2 rounds

Andersson heads Euros qualifying after 2 rounds

The 2nd round of qualifying and an interesting second day is over at the Indoor Euros in Finland. Christer Andersson who runs a highly modified Team Associated TC5 is tied in points with Ronald Völker who is running the Yokomo BD5. Völker´s car has new chassis which is made to accept just LiPos and Viljami Kutvonen who is 5th in the overall points also runs the same car and has been looking solid since. I talked with Völker´s mechanic from Yokomo and they hope the kit will be out soon.

Andersson heads Euros qualifying after 2 rounds

Marc Rheinard drove 2 clean heats to sit in 3rd spot overall overnight. Marc couldn’t get the best out his new set of tyres in qualifying and felt the set of tyres he was using during timed practice gave better balance and allowed him to run cleaner lines. Worse luck for his Tamiya team mate Victor Wilck whose left rear tyre came off the wheel, before which he was looking good, so tomorrow will be another chance.

Alexander Hagberg led Team Xray to 4th place. His car looked really balanced, but a small mistake destroyed his hope to steal better points from the top 3 drivers. His team mate Teemu Leino, ending at 7th, didn’t find same speed as he had in timed practice. A new set of race tyres changed the car from slightly understeering to pushing, so he lost too much time in corners. He has made small car setup adjustment and hopes a new set of tyres and a new day will be better.

Andersson heads Euros qualifying after 2 rounds

Juho Levänen improved the most in second round of qualifing and felt that the car was better. He is now 6th with 2 solid runs. Another driver with one good and one bad run was Chritopher Krapp, who hopes to keep it together tomorrow, when all racers get a practice run and 4 more rounds of qualifying.

Top 10 from Qualifying round 2
1. Christer Andersson – 25 Laps in 5:08.548
2. Ronald Völker – 25 Laps in 5:11.481
3. Marc Rheinard – 25 Laps in 5:11.760
4. Alexander Hagberg – 24 Laps in 5:00.752
5. Viljami Kutvonen – 24 Laps in 5:01.768
6. Juho Levänen – 24 Laps in 5:02.560
7. Christopher Krapp – 24 Laps in 5:04.177
8. Adrian Berntsen – 24 Laps in 5:04.564
9. Teemu Leino – 24 Laps in 5:05.247
10.Loïc Jasmin – 24 Laps in 5:05.584

Qualifying Top 10 after 2 of 6 rounds
1. Christer Andersson – 2pts [2,0]
2. Ronald Völker – 2pts [0,2]
3. Marc Rheinard – 8pts [5,3]
4. Alexander Hagberg – 8pts [4,4]
5. Viljami Kutvonen – 12pts [7,5]
6. Juho Levänen – 15pts [9,6]
7. Teemu Leino – 15pts [6,9]
8. Adrian Berntsen – 18pts [10,8]
9. Freddy Südhoff – 22pts [8,14]
10.Loïc Jasmin – 23pts [13,10]

Full results can be found on the official event site here.


Thanks to Teppo Kauppinen for the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: