August 17, 2010

2010 Rocky Mountain Short Course Championship

The 2010 Rocky Mountain Short Course Championship was held at the Sweetwater RC Raceway Park in Rock Springs, Wyoming August 13th – 15th. Friday’s open practice had drivers from Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, and Idaho putting in laps on both the 1/10 short course track and the 1/8 track just to get any advantage they could. The short course track had massive amounts of traction due to the sugared surface, while the 1/8 track was technical with big air jumps, both tracks were tricky. Saturday started off with four rounds of qualifying on both tracks with TQ being swapped back and fourth among many drivers in all classes. At the end of the day the top positions were locked in, with 2wd SCT Stock, 4wd SCT Open, and 1/8 Electric Buggy TQ going to DJ Clark of Wyoming, 2wd SCT Open TQ went to Jared Hair of Utah, and finally 1/8 Buggy and 1/8 Truck TQ was held by Chris Peralta of Colorado.

Early Sunday morning all the drivers where ready for the final battle of the weekend to see who who take home the hardware for the event. In 2wd SCT Stock the battle was on between DJ Clark, Justin Martinez, and Lee Hackney with all three drivers putting in a qualifying pace of 14 laps each. DJ Clark pulled out the win with Justin Martinez a close 2.4 seconds behind. In 2wd SCT Open the Hair family from Utah dominated the final. Bryan and Keltin battled hard for second swapping positions several times with Bryan finishing in the 2nd spot and Keltin ending up in the 3rd position, meanwhile their dad Jared took home the 1st position with a 1 lap lead. 4wd SCT Open saw another battle between Clark and Martinez, with Clark taking the win from Martinez again, but not before they both destroyed the TQ pace by a lap on the now blown out track surface. DJ Clark took a third win in 1/8 Electric Buggy to top off his weekend. Again he was pushed to the limit by Justin Martinez, Justin bobbled at the start and Clark drove conservatively to insure his win, but Martinez had other plans. He closed in and forced Clark to pick up the pace, Clark crashed and Martinez took the lead, then as Clark battled back Martinez crashed and allowed Clark back by for the final time and Clark cruised to the win. The 1/8 Buggy and 1/8 Truck wins both went to Addy Musaefendic of Colorado who ran a smooth race on the challenging track and worked his way to the top position in both classes by the mid point in each race. Addy was one of, if not the smoothest, driver on the track, he was rarely out of control and showed patience as he mastered the track and dominated both classes with a multiple lap led at the end of each race.

Full race results can be found here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: