August 25, 2010

Bultynck & Vekemans win Belgian Nats Rd5

Bultynck & Vekemans win Belgian Nats Rd5

The fifth round of the Belgian Electric touring Nationals took place at the Baanbrekers track in Rucphen, the Netherlands. The weather was sunny and dry and the track was fast. In the EFRA class was the goal for the rest of the racers to stop Olivier Bultynck clinching the crown. But in the qualifications Ollie was very fast and took the TQ spot. Thomas Stockman and Nick Joosens took second and third place respectively.

At the start of the first final, Olivier Bultynck took a clean start but Nick Joosens overtook Thomas Stockman. Ollie was fast but also very consistant in the laptimes and went away from the rest. The fight for second place was very exciting and Thomas couldn’t immediately find the opening to retake second place. But after a little mistake from Nick, Thomas took second place. In front of the finish line Nicolas Delise was spinning and came on the race line. Gregory Werniers couldn’t avoid the collision. Two Associated TC5 cars came in a frontal collision with each other. Both cars were total loss. And in the race Olivier Bultynck took the win in front of Thomas Stockman and Nick Joosens. The second final seems to be a copy from the first. Ollie went away from the rest and Nick overtook Thomas at the start. But 15 seconds before the end, Ollie’s car stopped, the ball-bearing inside the spurgear collapsed and the race was over. Nick took the lead and the win in this heat. For the second and third spot there was a fight between Manuel Henriet, Rico Claeys, Nik Weyers and Thomas Stockman. It was Thomas who took third place. The third final would decide everything. But Olivier Bultynck went away like a bullet and wanted the erase the disappointment of the second final with a flawless ride. Nick Joosens and Thomas Stockman were fighting again for second place, but Thomas made a mistake and Nick made the same mistake three laps later. Rico Claeys took advantage of this and was now in second place. Thomas came back and overtook Rico in the last lap but Rico was fighting back and overtook Thomas in the second last corner. Thomas attacked in the last corner but Rico took second with 0.1 of a second in front of Thomas. Ollie was allready over the finishline in first place. So overall it was Olivier Bultynck (Corally) the winner, Thomas Stockman (Xray) second and Nick Joosens third (Xray).

Bultynck & Vekemans win Belgian Nats Rd5

In the Superstock class Geoffrey Vekemans could take the title here with the win. After qualification Geoffrey was on pole in front of Stephane Roufosse and Werner Broeckx. Stephane complained about starting at the dirty side of the corner and in the first final his fear was confirmed. Geoffrey took the lead with Werner just behind him, meanwhile Stephane was struggling to keep his third place. For that third place we saw a fight between Stephane Roufosse, Jerry Nuyts, Marc Knops, Jasper Cuyvers and Mitchell Van Es. Geoffrey was gone and Werner could cruise on for second place. Jerry Nuyts managed to take third. For Geoffrey was this victory one to go to take the Belgian title this year. The second final started with Geoffrey in the lead and Werner Broeckx directly in front of Stephane Roufosse. Werner was trying to follow Geoffrey but Stephane was just behind. The other guys were driving for fourth place. Geoffrey drove a clean final and finished his 5th win in a row in this championship and was now crowned as the new Belgian Champion 2010 in the Superstock. Werner stay in front of Stephane and become second.

The third final Geoffrey wanted to proof how strong he was. But Geoffrey had made a jump start and had to come in for a stop-and-go. Jerry Nuyts was now in the lead followed by Stephan Rommens. Stephan overtook Jerry but Geoffrey was coming back very fast and overtook both youngsters. Stephane Roufosse and Werner Broeckx were fighting to come back but Mitchell Van Es was second now. Geoffrey took the win and Mitchell finished as second. Werner Broeckx came back and took third place. The overall winner was Geoffrey Vekemans (Schumacher), second Werner Broeckx (Xray) and third place for local driver Mitchell Van Es.

Source: Swingman []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: