September 21, 2010

Root & Schreffler win at JBRL Electric Rd7

Root & Schreffler win at JBRL Electric Rd7

The Jimmy Babcock Racing League (JBRL) headed to Pegasus Hobbies in Monte Clair for Round 7 of the 2010 Electric Series. Pegasus had prepared a fun layout and the weather was fantastic, setting up a great day of racing for the 150+ entrants. Team Losi Racing drivers Frank Root, Aaron Lane, Matt Schreffler, Doug “Casper” Nielsen, Keith Whisler, and Michael Guzman were all in attendance. Only a few miles from the Losi facility, this was sort of a home race for the team.

In the 2wd Modified Buggy category, it was all Frank Root. Frank had set a strong TQ in the first round, after a challenge from Cody Turner. Going into the second round, the water scheduled made it clear the TQ would be set in the second round. Frank battled early on in the heat for the lead and the TQ pace with several drivers, but as the race wore on, Frank continued to put down fast laps and took the TQ by 5 seconds over teammate Matt Schreffler. Frank made a small bobble at the start of the main, but was able to work back into the lead and pull away late to win by almost half a lap! Frank’s XXX-CR buggy was equipped with Losi tires, Xcelorin Power, and Spektrum radio equipment.

In 4wd Modified, it was more of the same, but this time it was all Matt Schreffler. Matt would battle it out in round 2 of qualifying, and eventually take the TQ by a slim margin. During the 6 minutes A-Main, Schreffler was is a class of his own, running the fastest laps, and winning comfortably. Matt’s win made it 6 wins in 7 tries this year for the XXX-4 G+ chassis with Frank Root winning the first 5 rounds. Matt’s XXX-4 G+ was equipped with Losi tires, Xcelorin Power and Spektrum radio Equipment.

1/8 Electric was the race of the night! Matt Schreffler put down a solid run in the first round of qualifying and took the early TQ. In the second round, Frank Root was able to snatch it away, taking the pole position for the main event, with Matt in 2nd and Casper 3rd. Frank, Matt, and Casper would get off to a rough start with a collision dropping Frank and Casper into the last 2 spots. This allowed Matt and Brian Sullivan out to a huge lead over Frank and Casper. With 9+ minutes to go, Frank began a long march back to the front, picking cars off one by one, all while Matt and Brian went back and forth for the lead spot. Frank caught the lead pack and a 3-way battle for the lead ensued over the final 2 laps. Frank and Brian racing to the line both pushed a touch to hard through the woops and tumbled, in front of Schreffler. Frank was able to get back on his wheels and cross the line first for the win, and Matt in 2nd! A strong points day for Frank allows him the opportunity to win the series with a TQ and win in the last round. Frank and Matt’s 8ight-E 2.0 were both equipped with Losi’s new Kingpin G2 tires in the Green compound, Xcelorin Power, and Spektrum radio equipment.

In the 13.5 2wd Buggy, it was again Team Losi Racing cars finishing out front. Michael Guzman and Aaron Lane put together a pretty heated battle with 2 other drivers for the first 3 minutes of the 6 minute main, but eventually Michael would pull away from the battle out to a huge lead. Aaron continued to fight it out in one of the best races of the night, and would take a strong second place finish when time expired. Up front, it was all Guzman though, taking a well deserved win. Michael and Aaron’s XXX-CRs were both equipped with Losi tires, Xcelorin Power and Spektrum radio equipment.

Source: Losi []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: