July 12, 2011

Cuypers heads all Belgian podium at Dutch Nats Rd4

Cuypers heads all Belgian podium at Dutch Nats Rd4

Last weekend was the 4th round of the Dutch 1/8 onroad nationals, this time on the 2011 1/10 EC-B track, the Baanbrekers in Rucphen. With good weather, a lot of rubber on the track from the EC-B and 45 drivers on the fastest track in Holland it promised to be a very good race and it didn’t disappoint. Steven Cuypers was in very good shape the whole weekend and showed that by taking the top spot after the 1st round of qualifying followed by John Ermen, Robin d’Hondt, Gunther v. Steay. Finally after 3 rounds it was Rick V taking the pole followed by Steven Cuypers just half a second back, with Robin d’Hondt and Ilia v. Gastel completing the top 4. Both Robin and Ilia had an extra handicap by starting in the lowest heat with much slower drivers because their listing in this years ranking, Ilia had a collision in the 1st heat damaging his car a lot but managed a direct main final place with the other 2 sessions.

At the start of the final Rick V’s car was slow and then stopped. Steven took over the first position followed by Robin, Ilia and Gunther, all 4 Belgian drivers. Rick V lost 3 laps by the time he came back on the track and had a huge task to move up. With Steven Cuypers in the lead switching places with Robin d’Hondt and Gunther, Ilia and John Ermen not far behind we had a very exciting final, but only one can win. Steven Cuypers took the victory followed by Robin d’Hondt and Gunther v. Staey

1. Steven Cuypers (BE) – 131L 30:06.221
2. Robin d’Hondt (BE) – 131L 30:11.453
3. Gunther van Staey (BE) – 130L 30:10.131
4. John Ermen (NL) – 129L 30:01.353
5. Rick Vrielijnck (NL) – 128L 30:11.925
6. Arie Manten (NL) – 126L 30:12.862
7. Ilia van Gastel (BE) – 124L 30:01.956
8. Frank Baggen (NL) – 124L 30:03.943
9. Joey Sorber (NL) – 112L 28:12.311
10.Marcel Schouten (NL) – 61L 14:53.458

In 1st round of qualifying of the the NOMAC class it was Ingeborg Gommers setting the pace with a fast 21 laps in 5 minutes. After 3 rounds it was Marc Meijer taking pole position with the only 22 lap result followed by Stanly Bauer, William Lefevre and Ingeborg Gommers. The 30 minutes final had a strong fight between William and Marc. Stanley had to retire and Ingeborg had some troubles almost at the end of the final loosing a lot of time which gave Mario Gerssen the opportunity to bump up to the 3rd place. William took the win followed by Marc and Mario.

Cuypers heads all Belgian podium at Dutch Nats Rd4

1. William lefévre (BE) – 123L 30:10.551
2. Marc Meijer (NL) – 122L 30:01.838
3. Mario Gerssen (NL) – 121L 30:14.620
4. Arco de Jong (NL) – 116L 30:04.462
5. Fedor Eskes (NL) – 113L 30:02.131
6. Wim van der Wind (NL) – 113L 30:04.005
7. Benny Ciere (NL) – 109L 30:08.511
8. Ingeborg Gommers (NL) – 107L 30:03.048
9. Stanley Bauer (NL) – 55L 16:31.676
10.Niels  Reijnders (NL) – 31L 08:18.199

Thanks to Roelof Tooms for the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: