July 27, 2011

Morganti & Burch win Timezone Gran Prix

Morganti & Burch win Timezone Gran Prix

Last weekend saw over 110 racers converge on the famous Timezone Raceway Park for the 3rd annual Timezone Gran Prix, located in Battle Ground Washington. The track is located on private property and only hosts one large event a year. This year’s entries included some of the top drivers from the Northwest, along with the factory pilots Paolo Morganti and Scott Kimbrow from Serpent, the current IFMAR 10th Scale World Champion Ralph Burch, Mike Swauger and Dave Ehrlich, along with Mugen drivers Richard St. Cyr and JJ Wang from Shanghai China. This was by far the largest and most competitive race ever held at Timezone with the freshly re-sealed track surface, the lap records fell all weekend. The European style ribbon track with banked corners and grass infield presented quite a challenge to all of the drivers and it was interesting to watch the drivers tune their cars and skills to adjust to the true road course conditions. After three rounds of qualifying on Saturday, it was Paolo Morganti that took TQ honours in 1/8th Open, Scott Kimbrow in 1/10th sedan and Ryan Newbury in 1/8th scale GT. In the 1/8th scale Open class it was pole man Paolo Morganti that took the win by 2 laps ahead of Richard St.Cyr, with Mike Swauger coming home in 3rd, 2 laps further back. In the 1/10th Sedan class it was WC Ralph Burch that won by 5 seconds from Scott Kimbrow with JJ Wang in 2nd, while in the GT class Jeff Holt won ahead of Ryan Newbury and Try McKune, the top 3 all on the same lap.

Source: Time Zone Racing [timezoneracing.com] / Image: Serpent


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: