November 22, 2011

Christopher Krapp wins Danish TC Nats Rd2

Christopher Krapp wins Danish TC Nationals

In mid November Ti-Mo Tinglev Modelbilklub organized the largest one day 1:10 electric touring car race in Denmark. Only at the DHI Cup there are more drivers than in Tinglev. The race was the second round of the DRCMU series – a race series mostly driven in Jutland and Fyn. 76 drivers participated the race in Tinglev, from the whole of Denmark but also 12 drivers from Germany came to Tinglev, which is located only 15 km from the German/Danish border.

Kyosho team driver Christopher Krapp and Tim Benson are well known – also in Denmark, so many drivers from Denmark looked forward to race against both German aces. In the Modified class there were 14 drivers, and all spectators and all other drivers saw a very interesting race. As expected Christopher Krapp with his Kyosho TF6 was very fast, but almost the same pace drove Patrick Hornum with his Russian Awesomatix A 700. In fact Patrick Hornum had the fastest lap time at the race, but in the end of a very tight qualification, Christopher Krapp managed to take the pole position ahead of Patrick Hornum with Martin Lissau with another Awesomatix A700 in third position. The finals were much easier for Christopher Krapp, as Patrick Hornum had enough to do with looking after Martin Lissau, who pushed very hard from behind. Christopher Krapp won the first 2 finals and took the win of the modified class. Martin Lissau managed to pass Patrick Hornum and took the second place, while Patrick Hornum took the third step on the podium.

1. Christopher Krapp
2. Martin Lissau
3. Patrick Hornum

In the Superstock class – which in the DRCMU are driven with 17,5 turn motors and timed ESCs – there were no less than 43 drivers. An enormous number of drivers and as the finals were raced with 8 drivers, the last final was an F main. In the qualifications there was a great battle only to go for the A main. Only Morten Juul Iversen, who recently switched to the Russian Awesomatix, was  able to stick out from the rest, as he drove lap times, that would have been enough for an A main also in the modified class. Morten Juul Iversen also won the first two finals and took his first win with his new car. Otherwise as for the first position there was a great battle for the next positions. In the third A main, where Morten Juul Iversen did not started, Mike Cosvig with a Tamiya 417, Ole Strandlyst with a Top Photon and Rasmus Nørgaard with an Associated TC6 had a great fight right until the last lap, where Ole Strandlyst lost the battle and took for him the unloved 4th place outside the podium. Mike Cosvig took the second and Rasmus Nørgaard the third place.

Christopher Krapp wins Danish TC Nationals

1. Martin Juul Iversen
2. Mike Cosvig
3. Rasmus Nørgaard

In the Stock / Newcomer class – which are also running with 17,5 turn motors but with no boost ESCs – there were 19 drivers. DRCMU as well as Ti-Mo Tinglev Modelbilklub were very pleased, that so many newcomers wanted to attend the race. The stock class has not many rules. In the fact there are only four main rules: it has to be a 1:10 touring car chassis, minimum weight 1350 grams, you have to drive a 17,5 t motor with no boost ESC and you have to drive rubber tires. That ‘s it, and the participation fee is only DKK 50 – less than 7 Euros. All had fun – especially the drivers, who were at their first race as fx. the only six years old Victor Nielsen from Tinglev. The victory went to Victor Christensen, second place took Tommy Udesen and third place took Mads Strandlyst.

After a long day with almost 11 hours of race and 88 heats, the organizing club Ti-Mo Tinglev Modelbilklub could look back on a busy and hard day. Many drivers afterwards expressed their happiness and satisfaction with the race, and they all look forward to the next race in Tinglev in the end of February 2012.

Christopher Krapp wins Danish TC Nationals

1. Victor Christensen
2. Tommy Udesen
3. Mads Strandlyst

Source: Tinglev Modelbilklub []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: