February 8, 2012

VRC Pro Column February

In February VRC Pro will release the 2008 Bangkok World Championship track, one with the 205m long 1:10 ISTC lay-out, and one with the 155m 1:12 sportscar lay-out. Both tracks are highly anticipated by the electric racers as this track has become legendary because of the immensely close battle between Marc Rheinard and Atsushi Hara. This track is no longer in operation but in VRC Pro the track lives on and for sure we will see some close racing in both 1:10 and 1:12 racing.

1:12 Electric class launched
VRC Pro has released the 1:12electric Spec class shortly before Christmas. The class uses 10.5T motors with unboosted speed controllers. Available are the Intercept ER12, the Xray X12 and the Associated RC12R5, all chassis are link type as this is where this class is going with the introduction of the 1S LiPo cells. The spec class chassis and components are free for all members!

VRC physics engineer Todd Wasson has developed a complete new suspension model which accurately describes the link system. For the modified class the front suspension will receive a big overhaul as well as it seems necessary to include the exact 1:12 suspension model because of the effects it has on roll-center movement and because of its active caster geometry. The 1:12 modified class is slated for launch early February 2012.

VRC Pro World Champions
In December 2011 VRC Pro organized 4 World Championships which were won by 4 different racers. Each of the World Championship events was followed by The Masters, and invitation only multi-player competition for the top-12 of the championship.

The 1:8 nitro Worlds was held at Luxembourg and young Kevin Pignotti from Italy reigned as was to be expected as the top ranked racer in this class (and in fact also in the other classes). Alexey Babchenko (Ukrain) and Martin Wollanka (Austria) completed the podium. The Masters title was won by Babchenko with Pignotti suffering internet problem during these finals.

1:10 Nitro was won by Frank Hättich from Germany. This specialist in 1:10 nitro snatched victory away from Ronald Völker who fell just 3 seconds short from victory after a hard fought 45 minute battle at the Pegaso track in Mexico. Pongtorn Trayranaron from Thailand came in 3rd. With World Champion Hattich not being able to appear in the Masters race this title went to Ronald Völker who would have liked to go head to head with Frank.

The 1:10 electric ISTC title went to Ronald Völker (Germany) who displayed his awesome skills at the very demanding track of Eppelheim. The 2011 LRP TCM winner was virtually untouchable on this track, only Martin Wollanka from Austria managed to get to within 3 seconds from the World Champion. The big surprise in this Worlds was the 4th place of Mustafa Alp from Turkey who missed the podium by just 1/100 of a second against Kevin Pignotti. The Masters title was captured by Ronald Völker as well who drove all of his 4 finals within 1.5 seconds, a display of world champion driving!

The last Worlds was for 1:10 ISTC Spec with 13.5T motor, the most popular class in VRC Pro. And that showed in this championship with 404 racers participating! Alex Apostolides from Greece won just 0.6 ahead of Martin Wollanka and 0.8 sec. in front of Michael Derderian from France. The Masters title in this class went to Derderian.

Videos of all the Masters racers are available on the VRC Pro YouTube channel here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: