March 6, 2012

Ryan Cavalieri wins 3rd Annual PRCR Invitational

The 3rd Annual PRCR Invitational was held last weekend at Portland R/C Raceway in Clackamas, Oregon. This is the home track of Team Orion USA Team Manager Joe Pillars and is owned by his father in-law Jim Dunlap. At this years event, current 2wd & 4wd IFMAR World Champion Ryan Cavalieri was in attendance along with the fastest drivers in the North-West. For the Invitational Class, all drivers would use their 2wd Modified Buggies for all 8 rounds. 4 rounds of heads up racing were ran on Saturday followed by another 4 rounds on Sunday. Each driver was given 2 throw-outs, using their best 6 points. Tie-breakers were determined by the number of 1st place finishes, 2nd place finishes, and so on using the 6 counted points. If still a tie, then the drivers 2 best combined laps and times were added together. Throw-outs were just that, and were not used. This is the same system that is used at the International Reedy Buggy Race of Champions.

For all other classes, 3 rounds of qualifying were ran on Saturday and 1 last chance qualifier on Sunday. The rocket round format was used to determine the overall qualifying order by taking each drivers single fastest run. Then lower main bump-ups followed by triple A-Mains were ran to determine the champion in each class.

Invitational 2wd Modified Buggy
Team Orion/AE Factory Driver Ryan Cavalieri took the overall win by finishing with 5 first place finishes and 1 second place finish to give him a total of 7 points. Finishing 2nd overall was Team Orion/Kyosho America Team Manager Joe Pillars with 2 first place finishes and 4 second place finishes. Finishing 3rd overall was Team Orion/Kyosho’s young up and coming talent Andy DiBrino. Andy actually tied with Pillars, but just came up short on the 2nd tie-breaker by only .4 of a second.

Invitational 2wd Modified Buggy Overall Top 10
1. Ryan Cavalieri – 7pts (LRP/Team Orion/Team Orion)
2. Joe Pillars – 10pts (Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion)
3. Andy DiBrino – 10pts (Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion)
4. Chris Gould – 11pts (Team Orion/Peak/High Velocity)
5. Shaun Dunlap – 12pts (Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion)
6. Chris Nealeigh – 15pts (Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion)
7. Roger Seim – 15pts (Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion)
8. Thomas Tran – 16pts (Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion)
9. Joe Cathey – 17pts (Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion)
10. Austin Seim – 19pts (Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion)

Modified Truck
Team Orion/AE Factory Driver Ryan Cavalieri went onto TQ all 4 rounds of Qualifying to take the overall TQ. Cavalieri went onto Win A-Mains #1 and #3 to take the overall Win! Team Orion/Kyosho Factory Driver Shaun Dunlap went onto Win A-Main #2 and finished 2nd in A-Main #3 to finish 2nd overall. Team Orion/Kyosho Driver Andy DiBrino finished 2nd in A-Main #1 and 3rd in A-Main #2 to take 3rd overall.

Modified Truck Overall Top 5
1. Ryan Cavalieri (TQ) (LRP/Team Orion/Team Orion)
2. Shaun Dunlap (Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion)
3. Andy DiBrino (Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion)
4. Gary Culp (Tekin/Tekin/Team Orion)
5. Jack Leighan (LRP/Reedy/Reedy)

Stock Buggy/Stock Truck/Stock Short Course Truck
Congrats goes out to very young local talent Tristin Harnar for Winning Stock Buggy, Stock Truck, and Stock Short Course Truck using all Team Orion Products to power him to the top, this making it a clean sweep for him in all 3 stock classes he entered.

Source: Team Orion []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: