April 12, 2012

Sabah RC Indoor championship 2012

Recently Malaysia’s biggest EP on-road race took place in the Borneo Sport Arena located in Kolombong, Kota Kinabalu. A large carpet indoor track was laid out for the two classes Stock Touring and Drift Touring. Over 70 racers from Sabah, Sarawak,Brunei, and West Malaysia attended in the two classes with the touring class being run with Dualsky 10.5T brushless motors and the drift class used Square Drift tyres. The race format saw six qualifying rounds, triple A main, dual B mains and single C to D mains. After six rounds of qualifying in the Stock Touring class Brunei racer Wirawan took the TQ spot ahead of Norazam and Shahrin. In A main 1 Wirawan lead from the start to finish with no major challenge. Second and third position went to Nilai Chong and KS Chu. In A main 2 Wirawan again managed to stay on top eventually wining the race with one A main to go.¬† KS Chu took the runner up sport followed by Raphael in 3rd. Come A main¬† 3, KS Chu managed to overtake Norazam and lead from the start till the end followed by Hazmi and Nilai Chong.

Final result Stock Touring
1. Wirawa
2. KS Chu
3. Nilai Chong
4. Hazmi
5. Norazam
6. Raphael
7. Tan Wee Chor
8. Gan Tse Shen
9. Zahirul Azman
10. Shahrin

In the Drift class Nilai Chong dominated the meeting showing excellent vehicle control. He managed to secure himself both the TQ and the race win in front of Fariz and Faiz who took home 2nd and 3rd position.

Final result Drift Touring
1. Nilai Chong
2. Fariz
3. Faiq
4. Mohd Iswandy
5. G Bibih
6. Faiz
7. Fauzan
8. Aries
9. Hj Zoff
10. Chin Yaw Vun

Following the price giving ceremony a lucky draw was held with prices donated by KS Hobby, Dualsky, Square, Good Way Forever, Masterpieces, HMS Racing, GFT Racing, Max Racing, Hobby Haven and Spec-R.

Many thanks to KS Chu for sending the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: