May 2, 2012

Jacky Siow wins MBA Cup 2012

The Minyak Beku Agrotourism Cup, an annual event held at the sea side resort in the southern part of Malaysia has attracted some of the best racers from Malaysia and Singapore, resulting in more than 50 racers participating in the 10.5T boosted class. The first round of qualifying saw Jacky Siow from Team Orca Asia taking the preliminary TQ spot with the fastest lap time of 12.281sec and completing 24 laps in 5:00.937. Michael Lo also from Team Orca Asia achieving 24 laps 5:02.352, with a fastest lap time of 12.291sec and Siow WoonFong achieving 24 laps 5:04.489 coming in 3rd.

The second leg of qualifying was pretty much the same for the field but as the track temperature continued to rise, no one was able to improve the result of the first round, only Siow WoonFong managed to up his round 1 qualifying pace to achieve 24 laps 5:02.472 with a fastest lap of 12.438sec, but was still not able to move up the order, remaining in 3rd overall.

The third leg of qualifying took place under very hot conditions with a track temperature of almost 67°C. Only a fraction of pilots was able to improve their times and to move up into the top 10, giving the following starting order for the A final in the 10.5T Boosted class:

1. Jacky Siow – Team Xray/Team Orca Asia
2. Michael Lo – Team Xray/Team Orca Asia
3. Siow WoonFong – Team Sakura/Team Orca Asia
4. PY Tang – Team Xray/Team Orca Asia
5. Norazam – Team Tamiya/Team Dualsky
6. Ken Ng – Xray/Dualsky
7. KS Chu – Yokomo/Team Dualsky
8. Nilai Chong – Team Yokomo/Team Dualsky
9. Shahrin – Team Yokomo/Orca
10.Ong KokThye – Team Sakura/Team Viper

In leg 1 of the A finals TQ Jacky Siow lead right from the start with Michael Lo and Siow WoonFong following. Behind the leader the field mixed up several times and at the end Jacky Siow took the win with Siow WoonFong in second and Norazam in third position.

Leg 2 of the A finals saw Jacky Siow leading and pulling away from the field right from the start. Behind him again a lively race started over the full five minutes distance. Siow WoonFong, KS Chu, Michael Lo and Ken Ng fought for the whole distance with the better end for Michael Lo who took the second place with Ken Ng taking 3rd in leg two. At the top of the field Jacky Siow secured himself the early win of the meeting with the win in A final 2.

Leg 3 of the A finals would prove to be a very exciting one with Siow WoonFong, Michael Lo, PY Tang and Norazam all having a chance to grab the second and third spot on the podium. At the tone, it was Jacky Siow who took of perfectly, but Michael Lo and Siow WoonFong managed a pass Jacky and took 1st and 2nd. After some very exciting five minutes Siow WoonFong took the win in leg 3 with PY Tang taking second and Jacky Siow managing to remain in third position.

Top 10 result
1. Jacky Siow – Team Xray/Team Orca Asia
2. Siow WoonFong – Team Sakura/Team Orca Asia
3. PY Tang – Team Xray/Team Orca Asia
4. Norazam – Team Tamiya/Team Dualsky
5. Michael Lo – Team Xray/Team Orca Asia
6. Ken Ng – Xray/Dualsky
7. KS Chu – Yokomo/Dualsky
8. Nilai Chong – Yokomo/Dualsky
9. Ong KokThye – Sakura/Team Viper
10.Shahrin – Yokomo/Orca Asia

Thanks to Michael Lo for sending the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: