May 8, 2012

Rick V takes Rd2 in Dutch Nationals

The 2nd round of the Dutch Nationals was held on Belgian soil at the beautiful track of Model Racing Genk. This is the first time ever that the Dutch competition is running on this track just over the border.  Because this track is also the homebase of some Belgium drivers they would have an advantage. On the Friday many people took the chance to run their first laps on this low grip track with only a very small gripline. The Saturday was wet and cold, and only at the end of the day it became dry and some laps were driven. The Sunday started dry but just before the start of the 1st heat it started to rain and did not stop until the main finals.

In the NK class after a wet qualifying, where it was difficult to get the right tire, it was RickV taking the pole followed by John Ermen, Arie Manten and Michiel Renting. In the final it was dry but the track was still a bit slippery. At the start is was John Ermen taking the lead from RickV. After the first corner there was a collision taking out Steven Cuypers, Marcel Schouten and Arie Manten. Arie did came back after 10 minutes and could finish the final and Marcel came back after 17 minutes but retired after a few laps. Steven was too badly damaged to come back.

During the race also Gunther v. Steay had some troubles with wet electronics and had to retire and John Ermen had a small problem giving the 2nd and 3rd spot to Frank Baggen and Michiel Renting with RickV in front until Frank crashed into Roelof Tooms who slide onto the straight in front of Frank, both had only a damaged wheel and could go on after a quick repair. The result of the final was as follows:

1. Rick Vrielijnck – 111L 30:02.212
2. John Ermen – 110L 30:07.557
3. Michiel Renting – 104L 30:12.548
4. Frank Baggen – 104L 30:15.036
5. Roelof Tooms – 89L 30:04.240
6. Arie Manten – 52L 30:11.353
7. Arco de Jong – 39L 11:26.794
8. Gunther van Steay – 37L 10:01.524
9. Marcel Schouten – 9L 20:30.666
10.Steven Cuypers – 0L 0:00.000

In the NOMAC class it was a close race for getting the 4 direct places in the final. In the last session it was Mark Hellenbrand taking the pole folowed by Stanley Bauer, Chef Rijcks and Noel Jans. Again some drivers had to retire due wet electronics and small mistakes meaning only 6 drivers reaching the finish. John Lenaers took the win and was the only Belgian driver on the podium. The final result:

1. John Lenaers – 96L 30:01.214
2. Stanley Bauer – 92L 30:14.073
3. Mark Hellenbrand – 92L 30:14.552
4. Chef Rijcks – 88L 30:09.915
5. Ad Vissenberg – 83L 30:15.544
6. Jeroen van Iperen – 82L 30:05.189
7. Ruud Knoester – 74L 24:29.061
8. Patrick Vannieuwenhuyse – 45L 19:11.932
9. Fedor Eskes – 18L 15:03.416
10.Noël Jans – 8L 2:37.040

Next time out the nationals will be held on the very fast track of the Baanbrekers in Rucphen.

Thanks to Roelof Tooms for the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: