September 12, 2012

Cseko, Timar & Varsanyi win Rd7 in Hungary

The 7th and penultimate round of the Hungarian Onroad Championships was held in Pecs last weekend. The club cleaned and sugar-watered the track for this event so the grip was there right from the beginning. This time the direction of the track has changed from regular anti-clockwise to clockwise which was a but tricky in the beginning for mechanics during refueling. The layout is fast and flowing with only one harpin corner and the weather was nice all weekend, around 25°C and no winds.

In the 1/10 200mm it was Gergely Cseko who set the pace early racing Serpent’s new 747 for the first time. He TQ’d with a new record for 5 minute qualifier and also renewed the single lap record for the category. In the final he left no chance to his opponents and won with a big gap. This 4th victory in the season also meant that he already defended his 2011 champion title in this class.

1. Gergely Cseko – Serpent 747 / RB TXR
2. Simon Ciudan – Shepherd Velox V10’12 / Sonic V12.T
3. Laszlo Kiss-Orban – Shepherd Velox V10 / Team-Orion Alpha

In 1/8th Gergo Timar grabbed the pole position for the final, being much faster than his rivals. He made a mistake in the first lap and dropped back. Tamas Sagi took over the lead until he ran out of fuel at the 5 minute mark. After this Gergo re-took the lead and never looked back. The championship title will be decided between Tamas Hegedus and Tamas Sagi at the last race.

1. Gergo Timar – Serpent 966 / JP Eagle R.9S
2. Jozsef Farkas – Kyosho Evolva / Novarossi Flash
3. Tamas Hegedus – Shepherd Velox V8 / Picco Torque

In the 1/10 200mm Stock class which uses a mandatory RB Concept Touring Junior or Novarossi N12T1 engine, it was local racer Peter Varsanyi who started from pole position in front of Gergo Lehner and Zsolt Pinter. Peter had a really messy start and dropped to the back of the pack. Gergo took over the lead but around the 15 minute mark he ran out of fuel. Then Zsolt took over the lead but shortly afterwards he had to retire after a crash when he tried to avoid a collision with a backmarker when another car crashed him from behind at full speed at the main straight. Meanwhile Peter made his way back to the front of the pack and took over the lead after this incident to bring home the first victory in his career. The championship is fully open and there is still 5 drivers who can take the title at the end of September at the Hungaroring track.

1. Peter Varsanyi – Mugen MTX-4 / RB TJ 11
2. Balazs Bihari – Capricorn LAB-C01 / RB TJ 11
3. Gergo Lehner – Shepherd V10’12 / Nova N12T1

Thanks to Gergely Czeko for the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: