October 31, 2012

Belgian SCT Cup Rd5

The fifth and last round of the Belgian SCT Cup 2012 took place at the Blackcountry Arena’s indoor astroturf track in Charleroi. The club, which hosted one of the EOS races in 2011, has as always been very efficient in organising the race, and even offered a glass of champagne to everyone at the end. The 2WD class saw the most attendees this weekend with some fast guys like Jean-François Renard and Nicolas Hammerton in attendance. The first and second leg of qualification was won by Nicolas Evens which gave him the overall TQ. The third leg was a tough one with four fast guys fighting hard on the track, running all together for most of the 6 minutes. In the end Jean-François was the quickest in front of Vincent Brauns and Nicolas Hammerton. In the first A-final Vincent had an excellent run with his rear motor truck. He was able to secure a second place between the two Nicolas’s and their 22SCTs. Second final started by a huge pile-up allowing Nicolas Evens to have half a lap lead. Nicolas Hammerton and Jean-François Renard fought for second place and ended in that order, separated by 1.5 seconds only. Last final saw the same guys fighting for the victory, with Vincent taking the win.

Result 2WD
1. Nicolas Evens – Losi 22SCT
2. Vincent Brauns – Team C TS2
3. Nicolas Hammerton – Losi 22SCT
4. Jean-François Renard  – Losi 22SCT
5. Kristof Dehert – Durango DESC210DM

Hong Nor Team Driver Raphaël Robert took TQ in the 4WD Modified class once again. He’s been followed by the usual suspects, Nicolas Evens and Mike Renotte. Finals have been dominated by Raphaël as well, being the only driver to break the 15 laps barrier, and winning all legs. Nicolas has been consistently second while Frank Devos came back from fifth position on the grid to take the last place on the podium.

Result 4WD
1. Raphael Robert – Hong Nor Nexx10
2. Nicolas Evens – Losi Ten-SCTE
3. Frank Devos – Associated SC10
4. Mike Renotte – Hong Nor SCRT10
5. Matthieu Carpin – Associated SC10

The racing day ended by the series’ prize giving ceremony. Top 3 guys got an exclusive t-shirt provided by Mikovic Art Painting and JConcepts vouchers were offered to drivers. Thanks to those two companies for their support.

Overall standings 2WD
1. Nicolas Evens 404
2. Edouard-Benoît Michez 384
3. Ronald Dupont 376
4. John Meys 373
5. Vincent Brauns 292

Overall standings 4WD
1. Raphael Robert 402
2. Nicolas Evens 393
3. Mike Renotte 385
4. Matthieu Carpin 276
5. Jurgen Smekens 276

Thanks to Nicolas Evens for sending the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: