May 25, 2013

Daniel Sieber takes European 1/8th ‘B’ title

Daniel Sieber takes European 1/8th 'B' title

The 1/8th scale EFRA European ‘B’ Championships were held this week at MAV Raceway in Aigen, Austria, the first EFRA Nitro Championship to use single brand hand out tires. With 91 drivers in attendance they had to deal with not only unseasonal single figure temperatures but also on and off rain throughout the event. Qualifying would go the way of Shepherd/Sonic driver Daniel Sieber claiming the only 20 lap run to claim the TQ spot with Maxi Vogl (Shepherd/Sonic) and Rene Püpke (Serpent/Xceed) completing an all German top 3 with Switzerland’s Claudio Pasquin taking 4th. Semi A would see Sieber cruise through to take the pole position for the main while Semi B would see the end of the meeting for Vogl and Pasquin, Nejc Mihelic taking the win. In the final it was to be a close finish with Sieber again being the man to beat, taking the win and European ‘B’ title ahead of Spain’s Nacho Lopez (Serpent/Xceed) in 2nd, 3 seconds behind the winner, with Michael Klausner (Mugen/Novarossi) claiming the final podium spot 3 tenths of a second back for an amazingly close finish.

Daniel Sieber takes European 1/8th 'B' title

Final results
1. Daniel Sieber – 159L 45:09.892
2. Nacho Lopez – 159L 45:12.623
3. Michael Klausner – 159L 45:12.933
4. Jürg Nydegger – 157L 45:16.637
5. Frank Schewiola – 156L 45:12.097
6. Armin Baier – 155L 45:02.758
7. Nejc Mihelic – 155L 45:15.314
8. Philip Sting – 123L 45:00.835
9. Thilo Todtmann – 92L 32:30.308
10.Rene Püpke – 82L 27:06.425

Image: Michael Salven


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: