June 13, 2013

Short Course Showdown Rd4 – Report


Holeshot Raceway located in Sanford Florida was the host of round 4 of the 2013 Short Course Showdown Nationwide Tour. With only a month’s notice, Kris James, owner of Holeshot Raceway and his crew got busy promoting the race, updating the layout including making the overall track bigger and a new ramp for the drivers stand. Their hard work paid off with just under 100 entries for this Short Course only event. Friday started off with a full day of practice and the track improved with more traction as the day went on. On Saturday there were three full rounds of qualifying, all qualifiers are heads up with only your fastest round placing you in the mains. After the end of the day, the class TQ’s went to JR Mitch in 2WD Mod, Matt Olson in 4WD Mod and Billy Bruce in 2WD Stock.

Sunday morning kicked off at 8am with round four of qualifying. The track was still good but not any faster for the guys to loose their TQ spots. At every Showdown race there is also a huge raffle after the final qualifier and before the mains with lots of products from the event sponsors given away to the racers only. The mains kicked off shortly after the raffle and the lower mains were all run first with the top two bumping up into the big show! All A mains were only eight cars but seven minutes long. 4WD Mod Short Course was all Matt Olson. From the TQ position to the win with JR Mitch running the fastest lap of the weekend trying to catch him finishing in 2nd and Felix Law finishing 3rd.


In the Mod 2WD class JR Mitch laid down some very fast laps and never lost the lead. The rest of the field had a good race with lots of position changes. In the end the final top 3 were all JConcepts team drivers, JR Mitch with the win, Damion Borkowicz in 2nd and Cole Tollard taking 3rd.


In Stock 2WD Short Course Billy Bruce dominated all weekend taking the overall win with JConcepts team mate Dave Duncan in the second spot and Dion Denison rounding out the podium.


The Short Course Buggy Class is steadily growing and had a very large turnout as well. Chris Gould had the TQ spot and held off the pack with his SC10B taking the overall win followed by Dave Duncan and his SC10B, Mike Applegate finished third with his Kyosho Ultima DB.

Source: JConcepts [jconcepts.net]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: