June 4, 2013

Willetts & Embling win BRCA E8 & Truggy Nats Rd3

Willetts & Embling win BRCA E8 & Truggy Nats Rd3

Last weekend 64 drivers descended on the sunny Dirt track in the Midlands and Coventry Model Car club. Upon arriving at the track it was immediately visible that the club members had been hard at work to present the track in the best possible shape after 3/4 days of rain and a full calendar of racing on the track the previous weekend for charity. As the car park started to fill it was nice to see a nice mix of top national drivers and club racers. The E8 buggy started the meeting off. The qualifying was to be 3 rounds with the best 2 to count with the first round having a 4 min warm up bolted on. At the end of the first qualifying run Elliott Boots set the pace with him being the only person to complete 9 laps. At the end of the second qualifying run Simon Willetts had joined Elliott in the 9 lap club. This was then extended to Jack Embling joining them at the end of qualifying 3.

The top places were as follows at the end of the qualifying session.

1. Elliott Boots
2. Simon Willetts
3. Jack Embling
4. Richard Barton
5. David Crompton
6. Chris Doughty
7. Ben Cosgrove
8 Karl Jackson
9. Craig Drescher
10.Tony Truman

It was then time for the silence to be be broken with the truggies taking to the track. They again had the 3 qualifying format with the best 2 to count. The first round of qualifying saw Jack Embling having Jon Howells and Micheal Lewis close on his heals. The Overall scores at the end of the second run saw Micheal and Jon swapping Places. Lewis beach and Jon Hazlewood started to get to grips with the now slick Coventry dirt track. At the end of the third run Jon had decided that he did not like the 3rd slot and moved back to second place. Lloyd Pitt stayed consistent on his last 2 runs with two 8th place finishes. Local driver Michael Shorey also had consistent runs 8th , 10th and 7th with his Agama. The top places were as follows at the end of the qualifying session.

1. Jack Embling
2. Jon Howells
3. Michael Lewis
4. Lewis Beach
5. Tommy Chung
6. Oliver Currie
7. Robert Cork
8. Michael Shorey
9. Jon Hazelwood
10.Llyod Pitt

To the A final and in Leg 1 Simon Willetts improved on his qualifying run by winning leg 1 with a impressive 17 laps in 626.97 and 9 out of the 14 drivers having a best lap of 36 seconds. Leg 2, no change at the top but Chris Doughty took his Durango to second place. Leg 3 saw a complete shake up with Richard Burton take the top slot, David Crompton 2nd, Tony Truman in 3rd. This left the overall standing after the 3 runs and the best 2 to count as follows

E-Buggy final results
1. Simon Willetts
2. David Crompton
3. Graig Drescher
4. Tony Truman
5. Richard Barton
6. Elliott Boots
7. Ben Cosgrove
8. Chris Doughty
9. Richard Taylor
10.Karl Jackson

All eyes were then on the cream of the bunch as the A final started the 30 min race. Jack Embling started in pole position and stayed there for most of the race. Micheal Lewis and Jon Howells continued with their qualifying dice. Jonathan Clark has to get a mention for winning the C Final, 4th in the B final and 13th in the A Final.

Willetts & Embling win BRCA E8 & Truggy Nats Rd3

Truggy final results
1. Jack Embling
2. Michael Lewis
3. Jon Howells
4. Lewis Beach
5. Robert Cork
6. Oliver Currie
7. Jon Hazlewood
8. Matthew Ball
9. Lloyd Pitt
10.Michael Shorey

The Track helped to produce some close racing in all classes, and big thanks to the coventry crew for preparing the track and Mark for running race control and Ross for the pics. Last but not least a big thanks to you the racers for supporting the championship, hope to see you all for the next round at NRC on the 7th July

Thanks to Ben Cosgrove for the report / Images: RC-Picz


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: