July 11, 2013

Oskar Fjeld wins TC Modified at Norwegian nats Rd3

Oskar Fjeld wins TC Modified at Norwegian nats Rd3

The third round of the Norwegian electric touring modified national series was held at the Vulbu Raceway close to Fagernes. The track itself is spectacular with a four meter elevation change and also the weather for the event was perfect, allowing good grip and interesting racing. The good forecast also meant a lot of drivers came out for the race, making it the biggest outcome in a long time. Qualifying consist of three rounds with the best one to count followed by triple finals. First round of qualifying saw Xray driver Tom Erik Haaversen setting the best time, closely followed by Oskar Fjeld and Joakim Nicolaisen in second and third. Oskar also set a new track record in this round.

In the second qualifier not much changed in the top. Some improvements, but not enough to change the order. Øyvind Stusdal improved on the track record Oskar set in the first round with his Xray T4. In the third and decisive round of qualifying, Tom Erik improved his time in the second to last heat. But Xray/MuchMore driver Oskar Fjeld had other plans, setting a new TQ time in the last heat and also taking back the track record from Øyvind.

Qualifying result
1. Oskar Fjeld – Xray
2. Tom Erik Haaversen – Xray
3. Joakim Nicolaisen – Associated
4. Helge Johannsen – 3Racing
5. Øyvind Stusdal – Xray
6. Rune Svestøl – Xray
7. Kjell Gunnar Guttormsen – Associated
8. Lars Andersen – 3Racing
9. Christer Antonsen – Xray
10.Magnus Guttormsen – Xray

In the first final Tom Erik passed Oskar in the start to take the win after fending of the attacks from Joakim Nicolaisen throughout the final. Some mechanical problems for Joakim in the final stages of the final allowed Øyvind to take second. The second final saw Tom Erik taking the lead once again, battling it out with Oskar for the win. Oskar made the pass again, but Tom Erik stayed on his tail. Tom Erik missed the apex in one turn, giving Oskar the needed space to secure the win. Further back in the field Øyvind and Joakim had a get together on the first lap rendering them ninth and tenth. Some close fights further up the field allowed Øyvind to eventually recover to third. In the third final there was some body contact at the start, sending several cars out of the race. Oskar got a good gap and cruised in to victory in front of Tom Erik in second.

Final result:
1. Oskar Fjeld – Xray
2. Tom Erik Haaversen – Xray
3. Øyvind Stusdal – Xray
4. Magnus Guttormsen – Xray
5. Lars Andersen – 3Racing
6. Kjell Gunnar Guttormsen – Associated
7. Rune Svestøl – Xray/Orca
8. Joakim Nicolaisen – Associated
9. Christer Antonsen – Xray
10.Helge Johannsen – 3Racing

Thanks to Oyvind Stusdal for sending the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: