August 12, 2013

ROAR electric off-road nationals – Report

ROAR electric off-road nationals – Report

The 2013 ROAR 1/10th electric off-road nationals took place in Chico, California at the Silver Dollar Raceway, the host of this year’s World Championships in a couple of weeks time. The organisers opted to sugar-treat the track’s surface as they did at the Worlds warm-up race earlier this year making it a mid-motor friendly affair. The important 2WD buggy class saw Team Associated’s Ryan Cavalieri and Ryan Maifield, TLR’s Dakotah Phend and Ty Tessmann, running a Kyosho RB6, battling out the top 4 positions in qualifying. All four scored a TQ but at the end it was Cavalieri who took the pole position from AE team mate Maifield with Phend and Tessmann in tow. In the triple A mains Dakotah, coming from the third spot in the grid shifted to second gear and stole the win in the first two final legs from Ryan Cavalieri handing him the national championship early. With a win in the third A main Ryan C. secured himself the runner-up spot with TLR’s Dustin Evans completing the podium.

2WD A main result
1. Dakotah Phend
2. Ryan Cavalieri
3. Dustin Evans
4. Ryan Maifield
5. Ty Tessmann
6. Ryan Lutz
7. Kody Numedahl
8. Jared Tebo
9. Steven Hartson
10.Billy Fischer

In 4WD buggy Ty Tessmann, driving the new Hot Bodies 4WD prototype, battled it out with TLR’s Dakotah Phend and his somewhat antique XXX-4 buggy. Ty took the pole position for the A main though with Dakotah and Ryan Maifield (Associated) in tow. Come the finals the Hot Bodies driver more or less easily won the first two finals from Ryan Cavalieri (Associated) and Ryan Lutz (Team Durango) making him the second driver to secure the national title early. Ty sat out the final leg that was won by Ryan Cavaleri handing the B44.2 driver the second place overall. Team Durango’s Ryan Lutz, coming from seventh on the grid, grabbed the final podium spot with his DEX410.

ROAR electric off-road nationals – Report

4WD A main result
1. Ty Tessmann
2. Ryan Cavalieri
3. Ryan Lutz
4. Jared Tebo
5. Dakotah Phend
6. Carson Wernimont
7. Dustin Evans
8. Tyler Vik
9. Barry Baker
10.Ryan Maifield

Swinging over to the trucks, in the resurrected 2WD racing truck class TLR’s Dakotah Phend had a clean sweep in qualifying placing his 22T truck in front of Kyosho’s Jared Tebo and Ryan Cavalieri. Despite being a bit of a dominator in qualifying Dakotah was not able to conserve his performance for the finals that saw Jared Tebo winning leg 1 and 2 to gain the 2013 national title early as did Dakotah and Ty in the buggy classes before. With a second, third and first place Dakotah took the runner-up spot from TLR’s Billy Fischer who ended up third on the podium coming from fourth on the grid.

ROAR electric off-road nationals – Report

2WD truck A main result
1. Jared Tebo
2. Dakotah Phend
3. Billy Fischer
4. Mike Truhe
5. Cody Hollis
6. Steven Hartson
7. Ryan Cavalieri
8. Tyler Vik
9. Nolan Anderson
10.JR Mitch

After having a hard time in the buggy classes Team Associated’s Ryan Maifield took the TQ for the 2WD short course A main from TLR’s Dustin Evans and Kody Numedahl (Associated). In the finals Ryan made his intentions clear to win at least the prestigious 2WD SC modified class and so he took the first two A mains in style with Dustin Evans scoring a win in the last A main in front of Ryan Lutz (Team Durango) and Kody Numedahl. The overall result saw Ryan taking the national title, Dustin came in second with Kody Numedahl completing the podium with this SC10 truck.

ROAR electric off-road nationals – Report

2WD SC modified A main result
1. Ryan Maifield
2. Dustin Evans
3. Kody Numedahl
4. Ryan Lutz
5. JR Mitch
6. Tanner Denney
7. Cody Turner
8. Chad Due
9. JP Richards
10.Justin Gilkison

Photos: A Main Hobbies []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: