August 15, 2013

Ronnefalk wins Swedish 4WD buggy title

Ronnefalk wins Swedish 4WD buggy title

Last weekend the Swedish 1/10th electric off-road championships took place in Falun. At first it looked like the race had to be cancelled due to the weather but the rain soon stopped and the club did a very good job to dry and prepare the track for racing. Due to the delay there was no time for practice anymore and qualifying started right away. In the 4WD class Kyosho’s David Ronnefalk scored the only 16 lap run handing him the TQ in this round using Kyosho’s new 4WD prototype buggy. Some three or four heats into the second round the rain started again and brought racing to a halt but it soon cleared up and the race resumed with round number three and four with the latter being again won by David who suffered time keeping problems in round three so TQ’ing the final qualifier was vital for a good starting position.

In the first A final David had a good start and was able to open a gap until he made a mistake letting team mate Christoffer Svensson pass. This then started a fight for the lead and on the penultimate lap David was able to overtake Christoffer for the win. The second final had David leading from start to finish handing him the Swedish 4WD title early. On time for the third A final rain was in the air again and the organisers and drivers decided to speed up the proceedings as for a regular counting of the race all three finals had to be run and in the end only one car out of eight made it to the finish line in the last A final.

4WD buggy result
1. David Ronnefalk – Kyosho/Team Orion/Team Orion/Team Orion
2. Magnus Wässmar – Xray/MuchMore/Thunder Power/Thunder Power
3. Niclas Månsson – AE/Advanced/Advanced/Reedy

Thanks to Pierre Ronnefalk for sending the report | Photo: Catharina Karlsson


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: