September 9, 2013

Scholz & Morgenstern win German 2WD titles

Scholz & Morgenstern win German 2WD titles

The German 2WD buggy nationals took place last weekend at the permanent astro turf track of the MAC Burgdorf, the host of the 2010 1/12th and ISTC World Championships. Saturday’s practice and qualifying started dry but come Sunday the rain was there. In the 2WD Modified class Team Durango’s Jörn Neumann made a clean sweep by winning all three qualifiers on Saturday followed by Team C’s Oliver Scholz who was tie on point’s with Christopher Krapp (Kyosho). Björn Prümper and Luca Rau completed the top 5. In the Standard class Mirko Morgenstern (Team C) won the first and second qualifier with the third run being TQ’d by Tom Bujara (Team C). Third placed Eugen Stand (Team C) scored two second places during qualifying and ended third on the grid. Thomas Oehler and Marcel Felzmann put their buggies in fourth and fifth place respectively.

The fouth and final round of qualifiers set for Sunday morning had to be cancelled due to rain meaning Saturday’s qualifying positions would determine the starting order for the finals. In 2WD Modified TQ Jörn Neumann ran into massive trouble in the first A final. Lacking performance on the water soaked surface the Team Durango driver only came in 9th with Oliver Scholz dominating the proceedings in front of Christopher Krapp who had Markus Metsch (Kyosho) in tow. The second leg was run improving conditions but again Jörn wasn’t up to his game ending in fourth position after some issues here and there. On top of the field Oliver Scholz came in first some five seconds in front of Christopher. Tom Maquel (Team C) completed the top 3 of the second A final. The win in the second final meant the overall win and 2013 2WD championship title for young Oliver who took his second national title in a row after grabbing the 2012 2WD nats. Sitting out the third and final A main Oliver made way for Jörn who scored the fastest and only 18 lap run of the day on front of Christopher. Björn Prümper (Yokomo) came in third but the runner-up spot and vice championship went to Christopher with Jörn Neumann completing the 2013 2WD Modified podium.

2WD Modified result
1. Scholz Oliver – 2 points
2. Krapp Christopher – 4 points
3. Neumann Jörn – 5 points
4. Maquel Tom – 7 points
5. Metsch Markus – 8 points
6. Rau Luca – 9 points
7. Pruemper Björn – 10 points
8. Niemann Meik – 13 points
9. Lübke Marcus – 15 points
10.Becker Jens – 17 points

In 2WD Standard Tom Bujara took the first A main in front of Mirko Morgenstern and Peter Schulz-Novak (Team Durango) only to end the second leg only in 10th position. Eberhard Beck though fully scored in the second A main with Marcel Felzmann in tow. In third again Peter Schulz-Novak. This meant the three drivers could win the national title making for an exciting third A final. This time Mirko controlled the proceedings finishing four seconds in front of Tom meaning both were tie on points. His 6th place finish over the 10th place from Tom in the second final ultimately handed Mirko the 2013 title with Tom taking the runner-up spot with Peter completing the podium after finishing the final leg in third position again.

Scholz & Morgenstern win German 2WD titles

2WD Standard result
1. Morgenstern Mirko – 3 points
2. Bujara Tom – 3 points
3. Schulz-Nowak Peter – 6 points
4. Felzmann Marcel – 6 points
5. Beck Eberhard – 8 points
6. Stang Eugen – 9 points
7. Heitsch Henrik – 10 points
8. Sagawe René – 13 points
9. Oehler Thomas – 14 points
10.Krapp H.-Joachim – 15 points

Photos: Team C Europe & ECC Detmold


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: