October 31, 2013

AllStar Speed Passion Championship – Report

AllStar Speed Passion Championship – Report

The grand finale of the five round AllStar Speed Passion Championship was held at the 3Stone Park Malaysia with 50 racers attended to battle for the title. The AllStar race series is aimed at promoting different platforms of RC racing such as F1, GT and FF to set it apart from the usual Touring car races. The rules only allow to use Speed Passion Cirtix Club Race speed controllers and 17.5 turns motors to cut costs and to make for close racing. Running in its second year the series attracts more and more racers and the season culminated at the 3Stone Park round. The race started with the FF class and the qualifying heats were won by Simon Yew driving a VBC FF Twelve. Dino who recently changed his chassis from a TOP FWD to Serpent proves that he does have the might to compete with the top drivers in this category and qualified 2nd on the grid. The finals had Simon taking the win from Yeop and Captain, who completed the podium.

FF class result
1. Simon Yew – VBC
2. Yeop – Serpent
3. Captain – Tamiya
4. Dino – Serpent
5. AD – Tamiya
6. KC Yap – Tamiya
7. BH Lim – Tamiya

FF class overall championship
1. Norazam – 395
2. Shahrin – 375
3. Dino – 314
4. Am Melaka – 238
5. Captain – 231
6. Hamim Zumar – 228
8. Shariman – 172
9. Haikal – 170
10. Leonard Ong – 164

Excitement rose at the start of the F1 class heats with championship leader Ismail Ibrahim driving his very own custom F1 chassis, battling it out to get TQ with Yap Chew Kong who is driving a Yokomo YRF. Both of them managed to finish the heats with mere seconds’ difference from each other. From the two previous qualifying it looked like Ismail was going to be the TQ for this class until the last qualifying heat, but Yap Chew Kong managed to strip of the TQ from him and positioned Ismail 2nd on the grid. Trailing behind the 2nd qualifier is Kowjacq, also driving a Yokomo YRF and also known as one of the best RC Drifter in Malaysia.

In the finals of the F1 category the battle between Ismail and Yap Chew Kong was yet to end.  Both tried to outperform each other and collisions between lower positioned drivers proofed to be challenging for Yap Chew Kong, Ismail and Kowjaq as they had to manoeuvre around the pile ups in the middle of the race. The first final was won by Yap Chew Kong and Ismail made a comeback by winning the 2nd final. At the end Yap won the tie breaker with a mere 2 second advantage over a whole 10 minute race.

Formula 1 class result
1. Yap Chew Kong – Yokomo
2. Ismail – Tamiya
3. Wak – TRF
4. Lim Eu Keong – VBC
5. Simon Yew – Yokomo
6. Max Teo – VBC
7. Kowjacq – Yokomo
8. Mat Arip – Tamiya
9. Misri – Yokomo
10.Foong – Yokomo

F1 Class overall championship
1. Ismail Ibrahim – 350
2. Rozaidi – 337
3. Yap Chew Kong – 320
4. KZ RMM – 276
5. Hamdan – 270
6. Ilyas – 265
7. Epin – 220
8. Sidy – 206
9. Arthur – 202
10.Simon Yew – 160

In the GT class, Amir KR, Boy Hazlyne and Azlie battled for the class win. Amir KR was the points ranking leader while Boy and Naz were battling for 2nd place in the overall ranking. To make the race more exciting and challenging, the organisers invited Malaysian top pro drivers to participate in this category for every round and for this race, Shahrin and Haikal were among them. The GT class consist of 2 groups with the top ranking drivers in group 1 which makes this group thrilling to watch. Amir KR who started the heat as number 1 driver was seen struggling to get traction out of his tyres and Boy, who was trailing behind him, had the fastest car. In group 2 of the GT class, Haikal and Shahrin had a hard-fought battle changing positions every lap in the qualifying heats and at the end of the qualifying Haikal took the TQ spot. The finals saw Haikal taking the win from Shahrin and Boy Hazlyne who completed the podium. Amir KR only managed to finish 5th due to car setup problems. Naz, the youngest driver, finished 4th.


GT class result
1. Haikal – Xray
2. Shahrin – Yokomo
3. Boy – Xray
4. Naz – Xray
5. Amir KR – Xray
6. Didie – Yokomo
7. Huzaiba – Team Associated
8. Halim Hafni – TRF
9. Wak – TRF
10.Sham – Xray


GT class overall championship
1. Amir KR – 415
2. Boy – 350
3. Naz – 335
4. Azlie – 319
5. Halim Hafni – 314
6. Huzaiba – 312
7. Rozaidi – 276
8. Rostam – 274
9. Wanto – 246
10.Ana KR – 242

Source: All Star Championship [facebook.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: