October 28, 2013

Andy DiBrino & CJ Ferrell win at Pumpkin Classic

Andy DiBrino & JC Ferell win at Pumpkin Classic

The 1st Annual Pumpkin Classic was held at Top Gear Raceway in Clackamas, Oregon. This one day event would bring in over 70 entries, including some of the fastest drivers from the North-West. Two 5 minute qualifiers were ran followed by double 5-minute A-Mains to decide the champion in each class. The highly contested 2WD Modified Buggy Class would show great racing all day. Kyosho/Team Orion Factory Driver Andy DiBrino would prove he was the man to beat by laying down the fastest single qualifier by over 3 seconds. DiBrino would then carry that momentum into the A-Main events and convincingly finish with a 1-1 to take the overall Win with his Team Orion powered Kyosho RB6 in mid-motor configuration. Up and coming young talent Tanner Day would turn some heads by qualifying 3rd overall in this very fast field, then finishing with a 2-2 to take 2nd overall with his mid-motor. Kyosho America/Team Orion USA Team Manager Joe Pillars put in a solid performance by qualifying 4th overall and finishing with a 3-3 to take the final spot on the podium with his Team Orion powered Kyosho RB6 in Mid-Motor.

2WD Modified Buggy result
1. Andy DiBrino – Kyosho
2. Tanner Day – Kyosho
3. Joe Pillars – Kyosho
4. Shaun Dunlap – Team Associated
5. Derek Rasheed – Kyosho
6. Roger Seim – Kyosho
7. CJ Ferrell – Kyosho
8. Ron Begeot – Team Associated

In the 4WD Modified Buggy Class it was Kyosho/Team Orion’s CJ Ferrell who would set the fastest run in qualifying to take the overall TQ. The double A-Main events would prove to be tough with great competition throughout the field. Up and coming local talent CJ Ferrell would go onto win A-Main 1 and finish 3rd in A-Main 2 to take the overall win with his Team Orion powered Kyosho ZX-5 FS2 SP. Local fast guy Derek Rasheed would qualify 3rd overall, then with a 3rd in A-Main 1 and a 2nd in A-Main 2 that would be good enough for 2nd overall with his Team Orion powered Kyosho ZX-5 FS2 SP. Up and coming young talent Chris Nealeigh would improve from his 5th starting position by finishing 5th in A-Main 1 and then winning A-Main 2 to give him 3rd overall.

Andy DiBrino & JC Ferell win at Pumpkin Classic

4WD Modified Buggy result
1. CJ Ferrell – Kyosho
2. Derek Rasheed – Kyosho
3. Chris Nealeigh – Team Associated
4. Tom Davies – Team Associated
5. Shaun Brown – Team Associated
6. Cameron Kellogg – Durango
7. Terry Schulz – Team Associated
8. Jackson Andres – Kyosho

Thanks to Joe Pillars for sending the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: