July 28, 2014

Dario Balestri crowned 1/8th European A champion

Dario Balestri crowned 1/8th European A champion

The 2014 1/8th Nitro On-road European Championships A were held at the Stöhr Ring in Kirchberg, Austria. The event was affected by the weather from time to time and to overcome any rain related issues the 45 minute final was started over an hour earlier than planned, with 2011 World Champion and double European Champion Robert Pietsch (Mugen) starting from pole position into the final.

In the final Kyle Branson (Capricorn) was the first to quit some 10 minutes into the race. Daniele Ielasi (BMT) was the next driver who had to end the final early as he stopped with around 12 minutes to go. Simon Kurzbuch (Shepherd), who was one of the favourites for the title, lost 2 laps due to engine problems while the Mugen duo of Robert Pietsch and Lamberto Collari had to end their championship ambitions due to small tiny driving errors. In the closing stages the top 7 drivers were only separated by seconds and at the end it was Dario Balestri (Capricorn) who scored a deserved win with a flawless drive. Mark Green (Serpent), coming from 10th on the grid, came in 2nd after a fantastic run while a visibly unhappy Robert Pietsch completed the podium in 3rd.

Final result:
1. Dario Balestri – Capricorn/XRD – 159L
2. Mark Green – Serpent/Novarossi – 158L
3. Robert Pietsch – Mugen/Picco – 158L
4. Alberto Picco – Mugen/Picco – 158L
5. Lamberto Collari – Mugen/OS – 158L
6. Alessio Mazzeo – Serpent/MAX – 158L
7. Francesco Tironi – Shepherd/Novarossi – 158L
8. Simon Kurzbuch – Shepherd/Novarossi – 156L
9. Daniele Ielasi – BMT/RB – 107L
10.Kyle Branson – Capricorn/XRD – 31L

Source: Nitro West [nitro-west.de]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: