October 10, 2014

SA Gas On-road Championships final round – Report

SA Gas On-road Champs final round – Report

The final round of the South African gas on-road championships was held at the RC Zone track in Middelburg. In the 1/8th scale class Wayne Joelson was the man to beat after taking TQ with Antonio Caroli having bad luck being disqualified in two of the qualifying rounds due to his car being under the minimum weight limit having lost weights during two of the qualifying rounds. Antonio made up for that in the final round by qualifying in second place and setting the fastest lap of the last round.

In the finals Wayne Joelson ran out of fuel on lap 80 with Antonio Caroli taking the lead. Antonio took the win by 13 seconds in front of a hard charging Ayrton Vermaak. Wayne Joelson completed the top 3 result. In the Enduro Championship Wayne Joelson took the overall title from Johan Kirsten and Willie Noordman and in the Sprint Championship standings it was again Wayne Joelson who took the overall title. Antonio Caroli finished the 2014 season in 2nd place while Ayrton Verkaak rounded out the top 3.

1/8 top 10 result
1. Antonio Caroli
2. Ayrton Vermaak
3. Wayne Joelson
4. Willie Noordman
5. Beyers Hatting
6. Lieb Liebenberg
7. Errol Warner
8. Faizel Salie
9. Ryan Dalton
10.Wayne Sayers

SA Gas On-road Championships final round – Report

Final Enduro Championship standings 2014
1. Wayne Joelson
2. Johan Kirsten
3. Willie Noordman
4. Ayrton Vermaak
5. Antonio Caroli
6. Henry Mostert

Final Sprint Championship Standings 2014
1. Wayne Joelson
2. Antonio Caroli
3. Ayrton Vermaak

Source: Xray [teamxray.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: