May 20, 2015

Austrian Electric On-road Nationals Rd2 – Report

Austrian Electric On-road Nationals Rd2 – Report

The second round of the Austrian Electric On-road Nationals was held at the countryside track of the SFMAV near Salzburg. Overall 40 racers attended this round in the classes of Touring Car Modified, Touring Car Stock and Formula. With the beginning of the qualification heats rain started to fall, but with an one hour delay the qualifiers were started and beside one short interruption the race would go ahead as planned. In Touring Car Modified Dominic Vogl was the man to beat. Again he and his Yokomo performed impressively. As in the first round Dominic had some issues in the qualification heats, but he finally took the TQ with the fastest heat and fastest lap of the race as Dominic was the one and only driver in Modified who was able to go 20 laps. Mario Sowka would line up in 2nd, followed by Christoph Ramsauer and Toni Eder. In the finals Dominic was unbeatable and he made a clean sweep in A1 and A2. Mario won the A3 and therefore he got the overall runner up spot followed by Toni, both running on Serpent.

Touring Car Modified final result:
1. Dominic Vogl
2. Mario Sowka
3. Toni Eder
4. Manuel Gremlica
5. David Wöß
6. Sascha Klug
7. Christoph Ramsauer
8. Helmut Frauenschuh
9. Florian Luyer
10.Stefan Hois

The Touring Car Stock class saw a very close race between the winner of the opening round, Jürgen Horn, and fast local driver Björn Moser, both driving an Xray, which seems to be the fastest choice for Stock racing at the moment. After exciting and close qualification heats Jürgen took the TQ because of the fastest qualification time with both drivers managing to score two heats wins. Gerhard Kandelhart came in 3rd place followed by Christian Schiff and Marcus Helmecke, all driving on Xray cars. Best of the rest was Vinzenz Schrank with his VBC in 6th position. The finals were as exciting as expected and in A-main 1, Jürgen and Björn lapped the whole field and Jürgen took a close win, followed by Björn and Macus. The second A-main went to Björn, who overtook Jürgen after a couple of laps and scored a clear win, followed by Jürgen and Christian. In the decisive 3rd A-main, Jürgen had some troubles with the electronics and Björn managed an easy win with Christian Schiff on the runner up spot and Vinzenz in 3rd place. So the overall result saw Björn Moser in front, Jürgen Horn on the runner up spot and Christian Schiff in 3rd place.

Austrian Electric On-road Nationals Rd2 – Report

Touring Car Stock final result:
1. Björn Moser
2. Jürgen Horn
3. Christian Schiff
4. Vinzenz Schrank
5. Marcus Helmecke
6. David Danner
7. Lukas Plattner
8. Gerhard Kandelhart
9. Manfred Pasch
10.Alexander Hochegger

In the Formula class Herbert Weber again set the pace in qualification, followed by Markus Wurmhöringer and the multiple IC champ Gerhard Kandelhart. Herbert won 3 out of 4 qualifications and took the TQ. In the finals Herbert took the win in A-main 1 and 2 without any troubles to fix his second win in the second race. The runner up spot went to Markus, who won the third A-main, followed by Gerhard.

Austrian Electric On-road Nationals Rd2 – Report

Formula final result:
1. Herbert Weber
2. Markus Wurmhöringer
3. Gerhard Kandelhart
4. Thomas Landegger
5. Andreas Teubl
6. Mario Schreilechner
7. Manfred Danner
8. Bernhard Welker
9. Günter Ahlen
10.Josef Maringer

The 3rd round of the Austrian Nationals will be held in Laa a.d. Thaya at the 6th and 7th of June.

Source: ÖFMAV []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: