September 10, 2015

Soren Boy Holst wins Danish SuperStock title

Soren Boy Holst wins Danish National Championships

The final round of the Danish Electric On-Road Nationals was held on the outdoor asphalt track in Odense, the city famous for HC Andersen and the DHI-Cup. The battle for the Danish Touring Car SuperStock Championship was wide open going into the final round as four drivers could take the title. To spice things up even more, five fast drivers from German attended the race as well. The weather during Saturday’s practice was perfect, but the prediction for Sunday was a little bit more risky. Usually the first round of qualifying is great for everyone due to new tires, but on the low to medium grip track the Sorex tires seemed to be better the second time out.

The first round was a close battle between Germany’s Björn Christiansen (Xray), Frederik Brolos (Yokomo), Nicolai Nielsen (Serpent) and Soren Boy Holst (VBC). These four guys would have a very close battle from start to finish. Soren was struggling with a loose rear end on new tires, and on the very last lap he rolled the car and lost four seconds to end up in sixth place in the round. Up front Björn took the first round ahead of Frederik and Nicolai. Before the second round Soren had to do something to get back into the game and so he heavily modified his setup to gain more grip and the changes combined with used tires would do the job. The battle with Björn was close, but Soren took round TQ some 0.3 seconds ahead of Björn, who was two seconds clean of Frederik. The third and final round would be decisive with the round by round system. This time Björn had the upper hand and won ahead of Soren, with the same 0.3 seconds while Frederik was another 0.3 seconds behind.

SuperStock top 5 after qualifying:
1. Björn Christiansen – Xray
2. Soren Boy Holst – VBC
3. Frederik Brolos – Yokomo
4. Nicolai Nielsen – Serpent
5. Steven Olsen – Schumacher

As if the racing wasn’t close enough, and if the championship battle wasn’t close enough, the weather goods decided to blend in some more spice. As the cars were warming up for the first final, it started to rain a little bit. Not enough for rain tires, but enough to change the grip level. In the first turn all cars drove very wide, sliding over the oily tires, and everyone had to be super smooth in and out. Soren made a mistake in turn 3 and almost ended in the grass. He fought his way back to the top, and passed the other guys. As the tires got warmer and got rid of the additive, the grip came up again and Frederik seemed to be the fastest guy on track, trying to catch Soren. It was a close battle to the tone that Soren would win by only a tenth of a second.

The second final was run on a dry track with the lap times being back to normal. Björn took off and kept the lead ahead of Soren and Frederik. On lap 3 Frederik bumped into the rear of Soren’s car, and both spun out before the main straight where they would see a couple of drivers passing them. They fought back again but on lap 8 Nicolai in second place rolled his car just in front of Soren, who could not avoid a collision while Frederik could use the opportunity to pass. Soren was right behind for the remainder of the final and took a third place with 0.2 seconds behind Frederik while up front Björn won the final.

The stage was set for a dramatic third and decisive final. Soren knew he would take the title if Björn would win the final leg so the plan was to stay behind and keep Frederik from passing. That was a good plan for the first half of the final, until Björn made a small mistake and rolled the car. Now Soren and Frederik had to fight for the win, the win of the day and the win of the championship. With lots of experience in the bag pack and great driving, Soren brought home the win by one second ahead of Frederik and Björn on third place, and this handed him the overall win of the Danish SuperStock Championship.

Soren Boy Holst wins Danish National Championships

SuperStock A-final top 5 result:
1. Soren Boy Holst – VBC
2. Björn Christiansen – Xray
3. Frederik Brolos – Yokomo
4. Nicolai Nielsen – Serpent
5. Pelle Culmsee – Schumacher

Source: VBC Racing []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: