November 10, 2015

Alex Ilievski takes Australian Touring 13.5T title

‪Alex Ilievski takes Australian Touring 13.5T title

This year’s Australian National Championships were held at the Whalan Model Car Club in NSW. The event attracted more than 100 entries, bringing the best drivers from around Australia in all classes. With four different drivers in Touring Stock 13.5 having a TQ on Saturday the top qualifier was still up grabs on Sunday morning. Ultimately Tony McMahon was able to put together two fast round to take the TQ.‬

‪The opening final of the 13.5T Stock class belonged to Damien Zarb and at the start of A2 TQ holder Tony pulled away to a 3 second lead from Damien and Alex Ilievski. After a great battle with Damien Alex made it past him and started to chase down Tony. He wasn’t able to close the gap in time though which saw Tony take the win from Alex. So the title was up for grabs in the 3rd final. By the time the front of the pack reached the second corner Alex noticed the top 2 drivers came together and opened up the field which gave him a clean run through the pack alongside fellow team mate Justin Rediex. Both went off with a four second gap to the rest of the field and after a great race with Justin Alex could see the finish line drawing closer and he knew he had to coast it in to take the National Title for the second consecutive year. Tony Mcmahon would end up on the runner-up spot with Justin Rediex completing an all-Xray top 3.‬

Alex Ilievski takes Australian Touring 13.5T title

Stock 13.5 top 10 result:‬
‪1. Alex Ilievski‬
‪2. Tony Mcmahon‬
‪3. Justin Rediex‬
‪4. Damien Zarb‬
‪5. Mark Wallin‬
‪6. Keith MacKrill‬
‪7. Josh Mason‬
‪8. Steve Georgopoulos‬
‪9. John Puse‬
‪10.Matt Valentine

Source: Xray []‬


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: