February 19, 2016

Maifield TQs Truggy at ‘The Dirt’

Maifield TQs Truggy at 'The Dirt'

Ryan Maifield is Top Qualifier for Saturday’s Truggy A-Main at the Dirt Nitro Challenge after a surprise TQ run from Joe Bornhorst denied Ryan Cavalieri the overall TQ as both Maifield and Ty Tessmann crashed in the third & final round of qualifying.  Opening the day at the Fear Farm with the third fastest time and then posting a TQ in Q2, this was to be enough for Maifield to take his first DNC Truggy TQ since 2012 as he ended up with a 10th in the final qualifier. For Tessmann his error would again leave the Q1 pace setter with a fourth for the round that will see the DNC’s most winning truggy driver beginning his quest for a fifth title starting from second on the grid.  Finishing 1.5 seconds off Bornhorst’s pace, Cavalieri will start the 45-minute Main from 3rd on the grid with Bornhorst starting directly behind him.  For reigning champion David Ronnefalk he faces an uphill battle to defend his title as he starts 10th on the grid.

Continue reading this report here or view our full event coverage here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: