February 2, 2016

Singapore EP Buggy National Series Rd1 – Report

Singapore EP Buggy National Series Rd1 – Report

Round 1 of the Singapore Electric Buggy National Series was held at the Urban PlaySpace astro turf off-road track in downtown Singapore. A small but quality field participated in the season’s opening event, including Singapore’s touring car ace, Nicholas Lee. The big challenge for all was managing the high traction surface of the tight circuit. In the 4WD class, Dominic Quek (Xray) drove his buggy with confidence to win the first two rounds of qualifying to secure the TQ honours. In leg 1 of the A-main, Dominic weathered the pressure from Scott Pettet (Yokomo) to secure the win. In leg 2, a misjudged jump by Dominic in the tricky double-chicane-double section of the track gave the win to Scott, setting up a showdown in leg 3. Dominic again got off to a confident start in leg 3, with Scott in hot pursuit. Holding back his adrenaline to avoid mistakes, Dominic was able to take a good win in leg 3 and claim his first win in the Singapore Nationals.

4WD A-main result:
1. Dominic Quek – Xray
2. Scott Pettet – Yokomo
3. Danial Miswan – SWorkz
4. Adib Aiman – Schumacher
5. Terence Low – Sworkz
6. Ismail Saheeb – Schumacher
7. Jeremy Hong – Yokomo

In the 2WD class, the man to beat was Nicholas Lee (Yokomo), who was hoping to emulate Touring Car ace Marc Rheinard’s heroics at the EOS the same weekend. With his trademark smooth driving, Nicholas took the TQ by coming back from a round 1 DNF to win rounds 2 and 3 of qualifying. Esmail Apandi (TLR) would line up 2nd on the grid, with Dominic Quek (Xray) in 3rd. In leg 1, Nicholas and Esmail battled throughout, with both showing quick reflexes on the tight circuit. Nicholas would win leg 1 by a 3.5 second margin over Esmail. In leg 2, Esmail would turn the tables to win and bring the fight over to the final leg. In leg 3, Esmail would spring a surprise move to move past pole position Nicholas to finally lockdown the win in an intense battle.

Singapore EP Buggy National Series Rd1 – Report

2WD A-main results:
1st Esmail Apandi – TLR
2nd Nicholas Lee – Yokomo
3rd Dominic Quek – Xray
4th Scott Pettet – Yokomo
5th Eugene Goh – Yokomo
6th Jeremy Hong – Yokomo
7th Terence Low – SWorkz
8th Adib Aiman – Schumacher

Source: Xray [teamxray.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: