March 26, 2016

Mibosport Cup 2015/16 – Season review

Mibosport Cup 2015/16 – Season review

The 2015/16 Mibosport Cup held its season finishing final round last weekend with the series attracting a total of 487 drivers of which 245 attended in the off-road classes while the on-road categories drew a total of 242 entries. This season drivers from 9 countries including Slovakia, Austria, Germany, Poland, Hungary, Great Britain, Estonia, Finland, Switzerland and the Czech Republic made their way to the Hotel-Sport in Hrotovice.

The opening round of the series saw the highest participation of the season with 254 drivers attending. The highest number of on-road entries, 120, were counted at the opening and the last rounds with the highest participation of off-road drivers, 134, started at round 1. Only the final round attracted more on-road than off-road drivers. The opening round also saw the most drivers in one class with 73 drivers making their entry for the 2WD Buggy class. The most balanced class in the number of starting drivers in the single rounds was the Touring Car Modified class. The most thrilling battle provided the very last A-main of the 4WD Buggy class between Kája Novotný and Hupo Hönigl. The youngest driver ever in the history of the series was only four-years-old Roman Bílek Jr.

The most points, 406, were scored by Tomáš Lipták in the 1/12th scale class and Herbert Weber in the Fomula class. Tomáš and Herbert became the most successful drivers of the season as well, winning four from five races and becoming the overall winners in their classes.

A total of 76 drivers attended the Touring Car Modified class with Patrick Gollner becoming the overall winner in spite of two victories of Ronald Völker and a victory of Viljami Kutvonen. At the opening round, Patrick finished second behind Ronald and he went on to win the fourth event. The overall second position went to Zdenko Kunák with Dominic Vogl occupying the third overall place.

Touring Modified top 5 overall:
1. Patrick Gollner
2. Zdenko Kunák
3. Dominic Vogl
4. Mario Sowka
5. Oliver Havránek

78 drivers attended the Stock LRP with Jürgen Horn dominating the class winning the first three rounds and scoring points for the third position in the fourth round. Jürgen then took the overall victory with 13-points gap to his rivals.

Mibosport Cup 2015/16 – Season review

Stock LRP top 5 overall:
1. Jürgen Horn
2. Oliver Havránek
3. Aleš Pelikán
4. Manfred Pasch
5. Christian Völker

The Formula class attracted 54 drivers overall with Herbert Weber winning the first three rounds. From the second round, the starting list saw Czech driver Vít Parák attending who managed to finish third on the podium in the third event and won the fourth round. Herbert showed his excellent form in the final round and took the race victory together with the overall win.

Mibosport Cup 2015/16 – Season review

Formula top 5 overall:
1. Herbert Weber
2. Vít Parák
3. Mario Sailer
4. Markus Reiser
5. Hannes Zuckerstätter

A total of 34 drivers attended the 1/12th scale with Tomáš Lipták dominating the class. Tomáš won four from five races when he had to deal with technical problems in the third event.

Mibosport Cup 2015/16 – Season review

1/12th scale top 5 overall:
1. Tomáš Lipták
2. Toni Eder
3. Aleš Pelikán
4. Igor Lipták
5. Michael Höller

Overall 137 drivers attended the 2WD Buggy class with four different winners in the first four events. Michal Orlowski won the opening round with Martin Wollanka coming out successful at the second event. The third round was won by Hupo Hönigl while Kája Novotný became the winner of the fourth event. In spite of such situation, it was quite clear that the battle for the overall victory will be between Hupo Hönigl and Kája Novotný. Although Kája won the final round, the sum of his points wasn’t enough for the overall win. The top podium spot went to Hupo Hönigl then, finishing only 2 points ahead of Kája – both of which changed chassis brands during the season.

Mibosport Cup 2015/16 – Season review

2WD top 5 overall:
1. Hupo Hönigl
2. Kája Novotný
3. Marcel Rekettye
4. Adam Izsay
5. Maximilian Hauenschild

A total of 108 drivers attended the 4WD Buggy class which almost took the same direction as the 2WD Buggy class with three different winners in the first three races. The first round was won by Martin Bayer, the second one by Michal Orlowski and Hupo Hönigl won the third round. The fourth round was won by Hupo as well meaning a battle for the overall victory between him and Kája Novotný in the final round again. The very last and dramatical final decided the race and overall winner, Kája Novotný, who finished only one point ahead of Hupo Hönigl.

Mibosport Cup 2015/16 – Season review

4WD top 5 result:
1. Kája Novotný
2. Hupo Hönigl
3. Marcel Rekettye
4. Aleš Bidovský
5. Adam Izsay

The opening round of the 2016/17 season will take place on the 29th of October 2016.

Source: Mibosport []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: