May 16, 2016

Mark Green wins BRCA 1/8 Circuit Nationals Rd3

Mark Green wins BRCA 1/8 Circuit Nationals Rd3

The third round of the BRCA 1/8 Circuit National series took place this past weekend at the small, tight and technical track of Adur. Close to the limit for how small of a track a modern 1/8 scale car can race around, this track provides a unique challenge with heavy braking zones, tight hairpins, and a short straight to keep the drivers on their toes. Saturday was dry, warm and perfect conditions for racing, Andy Hastings, Neal King and Tim Wood were setting the pace during practice on Saturday. Sunday morning was a touch colder, but stayed dry through the day.
 After four rounds of qualifying Mark Green came out fastest on top of Andrew Hastings and Neal King.

Qualifying top 10 result:
1. Mark Green – Serpent/XRD F.T Line – 22/310.771
2. Andrew Hastings – Shepherd/VS Racing – 22/310.962
3. Neal King – Capricorn/O.S. – 22/311.896
4. Tim Wood – Serpent/O.S. – 22/312.429
5. David Spashett – ARC/Picco – 21/302.352
6. Sam Snell – Mugen/O.S. – 21/306.399
7. Neil Diver – ARC/Reds M7 – 21/306.453
8. John Carr – Serpent/O.S. – 21/308.493
9. Richard Hicklin – Serpent/O.S. – 21/310.894
10.Clive Connolly – Shepherd/Ielasi Tuned – 21/312.659

As the final got under way Mark Green retained his qualifying pace and lead the race from start to finish. Further down the field a very fast Neal King would be the first to retire after making a mistake, next to succumb to retirement would be Neil Diver, soon to follow would be John Carr, Sam Snell, and Richard Hicklin. With Andy Hastings now catching Tim Wood who had worked his way into second, Andy would slip up the inside coming off the end of the straight corner at this point, Tim Wood’s first gear one way bearing began to slip, forcing Tim to run at a considerably slower pace to collect fifth place.

1/8 Nitro final results:
1. Mark Green – 124/1808.584
2. Andrew Hastings – 123/1809/482
3. David Spashett – 121/1801.181
4. Clive Connolly – 116/1808.794
5. Tim Wood – 101/1804.333
6. Richard Hicklin – 71/1198.840
7. Sam Snell – 53/872.490
8. John Carr – 40/824.176
9. Neil Diver – 28/448.449
10.Neal King – 20/293.060

In the 1/8th Circuit Electric class both finals were to finish in the exact same order with Gavin Clinch winning both legs, from Franck Dambrine in second and Mathew Baker in third, the reliability of the electric cars this time out was seemed to be much improved, maybe due to less stress on the electronics around the smaller Adur circuit, with every car finishing their finals.

1/8th Electric final results:
1. Gavin Clinch – 2 Points
2. Franck Dambrine – 4 Points
3. Mathew Baker – 6 Points
4. Paul Bellinger – 8 Points
5. James Elice – 10 Points
6. John Russell – 12 Points
7. Simon Ramswari – 14 Points

Source: 8th Circuit []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: