June 6, 2016

Wang Haifeng wins at RC Beijing GP

Wang Haifeng wins at RC Beijing GP

The RC Beijing GP was held at the new Incom Arena in Beijing, China, with racers from as far as Guangzhou, Hangzhou and Shanghai in attendance. Special guest for the event, that saw Electric Touring, 1/12th scale Pancar and 1/10th Le Mans classes, was 14-time IFMAR World Champion, Masami Hirosaka. In the Touring class young Nicholas Xu grabbed the 4 spot on the grid behind TQ Hirosaka who was followed by Zhang and Wang.

The opening A-main was won by Masami Hirosaka who at first was in a fight with Zhang but the latter suffered a mechanical failure, allowing Wang to move to second while Xu took the third spot from Ding. The second A-main had again Masami taking the win, this time from Zhang and Wang in second and third respectively. The third A-main was a pretty entertaining affair as Masami made an early mistake, allowing Xu to move up to third. The letter did then profit of a mistake of Zhang, allowing Nicholas to obtain the 2 spot. By this time, Masami was driving with maximum effort and was catching up fast. After several laps chasing, Nicholas yielded to Hirosaka and Zhang was also driving at maximum effort behind and caught Nicholas with about one minute to go. Nicholas again yielded to Zhang only to have him traction roll in front of him. Nicholas then held on to the third place right up to the finish line. Overall Wang Haifeng (Yokomo) would take the win from Masami (Yokomo) and Zhang Fangzhou (Awesomatix) but as a guest driver Masami gave his position to fourth placed Nicholas Xu (Xray) who took the final podium spot.

Source: Xray [teamxray.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: