July 31, 2016

Jörn Neumann takes 2016 EFRA 4WD Buggy title

Jörn Neumann takes 2016 EFRA 4WD Buggy title

The 2016 EFRA European Electric Off-road Championships were held this week in Valladolid, Spain. As usual the event was split into a 2WD and a 4WD race with the 2WD portion being won by Team Associated’s Neil Cragg. The following 4WD event saw Xray’s Bruno Coelho and AE’s Neil Cragg battling it out for the TQ with the better end for reigning 4WD World Champion, Bruno Coelho who would take the overall TQ from Neil in the tie-breaker. In third Serpent’s Jörn Neumann also looked very fast while behind him Martin Wollanka and Karri Salmela completed the top 5.

The opening A-main then held drama for Neil who suffered technical problems right before the start. Ultimately the leg was won by Jörn with a seven seconds margin on Bruno. Martin Wollanka came in third only 0.5s behind Jörn. In the second A-main Bruno scored a commanding win some 11 seconds in front of Jörn while the third place was obtained by Lee Martin. Runner-up after the qualifiers, Neil Cragg had to settle for 5th in the leg. The third and decisive A-main was a pretty exciting affair that again mixed things up a bit and at the end of the 5-minute leg it was Jörn who took a 2-seconds win from Neil Cragg and Lee Martin. TQ Bruno Coelho had to settle for fourth. Overall, with wins in A1 and A3, Jörn Neumann took the 2016 4WD title, driving Serpent’s forthcoming SDX4 buggy, from Bruno Coelho. Lee Martin (Yokomo) grabbed the final podium spot in third.

Final results:
1. Jörn Neumann – Serpent
2. Bruno Coelho – Xray
3. Lee Martin – Yokomo
4. Neil Cragg – Team Associated
5. Martin Wollanka – Xray
6. Martin Bayer – Xray
7. Marlin Karlsen – Xray
8. Karri Salmela – Team Associated
9. Joona Haatanen – Team Associated
10.Hupo Hönigl – Xray

Source: Serpent [serpent.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: