July 19, 2016

Texas Electric On-Road Series Rd4 – Report

Texas Electric On-Road Series Rd4 – Report

The final round of the Texas Electric On-Road Series was held in San Antonio, Texas this past Sunday. 55 entries were present between five classes for the fourth round of the series. Conditions were extremely hot under the Texas sun. The track was large and flowing with two tricky chicanes that would catch many drivers out through the day and the asphalt surface provided for medium-high traction. Qualifying points from the driver’s best two out of three qualifying rounds would be used to setup the main. There was two bump-ups from each lower main. After more technical tracks in the previous three rounds, the Touring Modified drivers were finally able to open up their powerful motors around the large track. Qualifying would be close between Chris Adams and Chris Kemper; Adams edging Kemper out and earning the TQ on pace. The conditions during the main would prove to be tricky as the low setting sun created glares and long shadows on different corners; causing the drivers to make some minor mistakes. Adams was able to build a 5 second lead through the race over Kemper. Guillaume Herve made his way up to the third step of the podium.

Touring Modified top 5:
1. Chris Adams – Xray
2. Chris Kemper – Awesomatix
3. Guillaume Herve – Xray
4. Johnee Fenimore – Awesomatix
5. Larry Myers – Schumacher

Coming into the final round, 17.5 Touring remained one of the few classes with the championship still up for grabs. Guillaume Herve had a 4 point lead over Chris Kemper coming in; one point from clinching the title. It was a close battle between Kemper and Herve at the top all day. Billy Land and Jose Moreno were also not far behind in third and fourth; having great battles every round between them. A clean run by Kemper and Herve in round 1 saw Kemper take the early TQ by 1 second over Herve on the 5 minute run. Herve put in a clean run in round 2 to win the qualifying round, while Kemper experienced mechanical issues. Kemper was able to clinch that all vital TQ in the final round of qualifying, round 3; to earn the extra championship point to keep his championship hopes alive. In the main, Kemper would lead start to finish with a clean run with no pressure from behind after an early mistake by Herve. He would need Herve to finish 3rd or worse to win the title. Herve managed to finish second, thus successfully defending his 2015 17.5 Touring championship title by 1 point. Billy Land completed the podium, taking third, after a hard fought race against Jose Moreno.

Texas Electric On-Road Series Rd4 – Report

Touring Stock top 5:
1. Chris Kemper – Awesomatix
2. Guillaume Herve – Xray
3. Billy Land – Xray
4. Jose Moreno – Xray
5. Johnee Fenimore – Awesomatix

Formula was a showdown in qualifying between Larry Myers and Jacob Aguire. Larry held off Aguire to earn the TQ. The main proved straight forward for Myers, building a 6-second gap between himself and second place Aguire. Jose Isales would claim the final step of the podium a few seconds behind Aguire.

Texas Electric On-Road Series Rd4 – Report

Formula top 3:
1. Larry Myers
2. Jacob Aguire
3. Jose Isales

USGT proved to be one of the most exciting classes of the day, as well as the largest class of the day with an A, B, and C-main. The heads-up race start in qualifying created for some intense action packed heats. The driver that managed to have the cleanest run was likely to take the TQ. Billy Land would put down the only 19 lap run in the class, locking in that TQ. The main would see Land cruise to victory, followed by Jose Moreno in second and Wayne Stuntz with a close third, 1 second behind Moreno. Jose Moreno earned the USGT title with his podium finish.

Texas Electric On-Road Series Rd4 – Report

USGT top3:
1. Billy Land
2. Jose Moreno
3. Wayne Stuntz

In VTA, Paul Gaertner would demonstrate his consistency in each round to earn him the TQ. The main proved to be an interesting one as Jose Isales made his way from 3rd to the front to take the win. Todd Koch put down the fastest laps in the main, earning him second place and defending his 2015 VTA TEOS title by winning the 2016 title. R.J. Labrador drove a solid race to earn his step on the podium in 3rd.

Texas Electric On-Road Series Rd4 – Report

VTA top 3:
1. Jose Isales
2. Todd Koch
3. R.J. Labrador

Source: Texas EOS [facebook.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: