October 27, 2016

Bart Mullink takes 2016 BL-Cup title

Bart Mullink takes 2016 BL-Cup title

The final round of this year’s BL-Cup was held on the unique indoor astro turf track of the city of Grou. Pre-event favourite, Bart Mullink swept the qualifiers, scoring the only 16-laps run of the weekend. Albert Croesen and Anne Strom came in second and third, being tie on points. The semifinal then did not went to plan for the TQ holder as a mistake when charging one of his car’s LiPo batteries meant Bart wasn’t able to finish the final. Anne Strom took profit of the situation to win the race while the other semi was won by Albert. Thankfully for Bart the BL-Cup has a last change final that allows the two fastest drivers to bump up into the main final and ultimately Bart and also Wesley Wiertz were able to snatch the last minute tickets for the main.

At the sound of the tone a lot was going on on the track with a big pile of cars created in the opening lap but Bart kept his mind clear and so he was able to fight for the lead within a few laps. After a short battle with Anne, Bart took the first spot and never looked back but behind Anne, Renze Postma and Erik Wadners were looking to grab the final podium spots. Unfortunately Anne broke down later, allowing Erik to take the 2 spot following a pass on Renze who would round out the top 3. With the race win, Bart also snatched the overall title after coming out successful in all five events. Erik Wadners took the vice championship title from Michael van Dijk who was unfortunately missing from the race due to illness.

Thanks to Oscar Koot for the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: